We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malvarina
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Umbra(Assisi)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Properzio(Assisi)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Porta Nuova(Assisi)(Great Value!)
$90
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Da Angelo(Assisi)(Great Value!)
$83
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$148
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dei Priori(Assisi)(Great Value!)
$98
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cenacolo(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
$238
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ideale(Assisi)
$127
$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
100
56
15
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
56
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmulti coursebreakfast roomswimming poolmonte subasioeach morningderutamariafarmagriturismoumbriaviews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 183 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Visit Malvarina if you want to have an amazing multi-course Umbrian dinner in pleasant rustic surroundings. The dinners were a wonderful marathon of country dishes, fresh products and wine for a very reasonable 30 euros per person. The views from this hillside farm are amazing and you feel very far from the maddening crowd. The room was large but at 93 euros it cost 10 to 40 euros more per night than the other seven places we stayed in Umbria or Tuscany in April. And I would have to say that the standard of cleanliness was a bit lower. It is a rustic experience with no phones, television or internet. The young son of the owner was very friendly and helpful with great suggestions for sights. Spend a night or two to experience the food and see the local hill towns. Then move on.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I have stayed at Malvarina twice now - hoping for something more the second time. The food is worth the trip but overall the place is just not that charming. A small double room is 75 EU ($125) and you shouldn't expect any more than the average 2 star hotel. Cooking lessons consist of paying $40 to watch three ladies cook - unlike cooking lessons I've taken where I was part of the preparation and the recipes unfolded as the meal was prepared. The view is magnificent, the location great, 4km from Assisi, and overall I would stay there again but I have set my expectations lower after two tries.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italiatouristica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Our stay in Malvarina was a wonderful experience. They are located off the beaten path but what a way to feel the culture of Italy without loads of tourists. We were close to the Umbrian villages for day trips, had nice accomodations and excellent meals cooked by Mother Maria and her assistants. Everyone was always friendly, helpful and full of smiles. We look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jftaylor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We are new residents of Naples and booked a July 07 weekend at Malvarina. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get off the well-worn paths of Tuscany and experience a true Italian farmstay/agritourismo. Claudio and his adult son speak very good English and were so helpful, while other family members and staff were kind and patient with our basic level of Italian. Our room & private bath were furnished with charming antiques similiar to a B&B in America. Simple quiet style in the Umbrian countryside: no TV, no phone, but there is a pool, great views of the valley, fresh breads and jam, local wines, incredible dinners from Maria, fresh olive oils...

We cannot wait to return in October 2007 for the olive oil harvest! It's also in a wonderful location for exploring Assisi, Perugia, Spoleto, and other small towns of Umbria during the day.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Malvarina has it all, in authentic umbrian style. The location is perfect for easy day-trips to Perugia, Spello, Deruta and, of course, Assissi. Claudio, Mama Maria and Phillipo are warm and caring hosts, offering a variety of activities and services including cooking lessons with english translator, horseback riding, farm tours and an english speaking tour guide through the umbrian countryside and hill towns. We were immediatly made to feel like a part of the family, taking part in family celebrations in an open and relaxing atmosphere. Mama Maria cooks an amazing array of food every evening. The cooking classes are highly recommended, of only to discover how to budget your appetite during the phenomenal meals prepared by Mama Maria. Recommended for anyone willing to fall head over heels in love with Italy and Umbria.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studynsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews