We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever”
Review of Malvarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malvarina
Ranked #26 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best experience ever”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Malvarina for 3 nights in May. The staffs were really friendly. Most of them were not able to speak English but it didn't bother me because they were always willing to help and they tried to understand me.
The dinner was very, very nice and I can't quite agree with the reviews that are saying that the amount was too much, or not too much, or not so nice. Every dish was fresh and delicious and a lot, but it is not like they force you to eat. When I arrived there, I was a bit sick, so I asked whether they could make something comforting and they prepared a nice vegetable soup for me. They also adjusted the price for me, from 35 to 15 euro, since I was not able to eat the whole meal. We asked for laundry service, and they would wash and dry and fold all out clothes very nicely, just how your mom would do for you.
The room was not like 5 star hotel, but clean and nicely decorated. The view, swimming pool and the surrounding are all very charming.
I would recommend it to people who want to have an authentic umbrian experence, maybe less fancy and less comfortable but warm and special. I would definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    54
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
76
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napoli
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I found Malvarina mentioned in Rick Steve's book and was very pleased to discover they could accomodate our mixed family of six. We had two hotel-style rooms and one cottage and all were very well appointed and clean. Their pool was clean and very enjoyable.
Finding Malvarina off the highway was easy with both the GPS and roadside signs. There is a large Eurospar grocery store just down the street from the St. Mary of the Angels church. It has an excellent deli and wine selection. If you choose to stock up for your stay, stop in before you head up the hill to Malvarina. Our cottage had a small fridge, stove top and microwave.
Their optional dinner was fantastic! We live in Italy and are used to large Italian-style dinners, but theirs was over-the-top, with their farm-raised veggies and meat. The presentation was Michellin-chef worthy, and flavors were out of this world. The ambiance on their terrace was delightful. I definitely recommend treating yourself to dinner here at least one night.
And their breakfast?! I think we all gained 5 pounds during our stay, because Antonietta's breakfast cakes and eggs were delicious! And their coffee-the best! It was hard to leave for the day! Oh, and they make their own jams-be sure to try the zucca! Their olive oil is wonderful too.
Assisi is a 7 minute drive, taking the short cuts thru the side roads, rather than going back down to the highway. Or, you can walk on the trail from Malvarina, it takes about an hour. Bring good walking shoes, because it's a bit rocky and slippery in some places. It's got a few hills, but nothing too difficult.
The views from Malvarina are breathtaking, and we did not want to leave! The fresh air, the cicadas, the food, the setting......all were exactly as one would expect from an Umbrian agritourismo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapoliZena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We cannot agree with the positive comments from the other reviewers. We initially booked for 6 nights but left after the 4th. The positive things about Malvarina are a unique atmosphere and setting in the middle of the Umbrian landscape with a magnificent view on the Assisi valley. The staff is correct but not over friendly. For instance, we did not see any of the owners or were asked once if everything went well. The first evening, we decided to stay and have the proposed evening meal (35€ per person). The food was very good but way too much: refusing another plate did not help, they kept serving us. The breakfast on the other hand is pretty basic: some cake, toasts and house made marmalade, with powder coffee, that's it. The rooms are not air-conditioned and only have a ventilator. The shower in our bathroom was so small you could hardly turn. Our towels were only replaced once: the last day before we left. Sitting on the swimming pool was not evident, we got eaten and bitten by nasty horse flies all the time and taking a dive in the pool was not easy either because some locals with their shouting and yelling teenagers took possession of the place the afternoon. As mentioned, we left the 4th day and went to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VincentBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My friend and I stayed six nights at Malvarina and what a wonderful experience it was! We used it as our home base and did day trips from there. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Piera. works in the office, was extremely helpful because she speak s English and we had a great time with her. We took their cooking class and it was so much fun. Antonetta showed us how to make pasta from scratch, and she also took very good care of us every morning at breakfast. Our room was perfect and very, very clean! We had dinner in the dining room everynight but one, and it was always a wonderful eating experience! The grounds are amazing. It is a little difficult to find the first time, but after that it's very easy. We cannot wait to return, and we will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vbayliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Our family appreciated the warm welcome we received from the family and staff at Malvarina. We found Piera to be extremely helpful with our planning (she speaks fluent English) and everyone was accommodating to our every need. We shared many laughs during our cooking class and enjoyed Antonetta's traditional cooking and excellent breakfast service. We enjoyed our stay so much that our teenage son shed a tear when we had to leave! Must visit again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank famClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2011

High on the mountainside overlooking the valley of Umbria this agriturismo was a unique place to stay. Centrally located to Assisi, Spello, Bevagna and Perugia, the area was easily accessible by car. Good value for money! Staff were personable and helpful in all aspects of our holiday.

Room Tip: Cottages were very comfortable for a week's stay, allowing for relaxation, privacy, own cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were cycling through Umbria for two weeks and our three day stay at this Agriturismo outside Assisi was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. After a 50 mile bike ride from Lake Trasimeno, we arrived hungry and tired. Dinner at this family run farm was course after course of mama's recipes, from antipasto to ravioli to sauteed scape to sausage and more, every dish served was freshly made, plus eighty percent of the food they serve here is produced on the farm. It certainly was a welcome meal - homemade and delicious.

The secluded and spacious one bedroom cottage was quiet and restful, which was very high on our list. It was smartly filled with antiques with huge dining table inside and a delightful outdoor eating area. The bed was comfortable and although the kitchen was small, it worked out just fine for the meals we cooked for the two of us.

Everyone that worked here was kind and helpful, especially since we were traveling unconventionally. There's no question we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagsfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assisi
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castello
Agriturismo Il Castello
#11 of 112 in Assisi
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Giardino dei Ciliegi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valle Del Subasio
Valle Del Subasio
#3 of 112 in Assisi
152 reviews
8.3 mi away
Agriturismo Le Colombe
Agriturismo Le Colombe
#6 of 112 in Assisi
79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo Colle degli Olivi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvarina

Property: Malvarina
Address: Via Pieve di Sant'Apollinare 32, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The structure is displaced to 5 minutes from Assisi seated on the same side of the Subasio mountain. It's widespread in the countryside between secolar trees.Our motto is "YOUR COUNTRY HOME!!!"La struttura è dislocata a 5 minuti da Assisi sullo stesso versante del Monte Subasio. E' diffusa nella campagna tra alberi secolari.il nostro motto è "LA TUA CASA DI CAMPAGNA!!!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malvarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvarina Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing