We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to parking garage and great location to stores and churches”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“close to parking garage and great location to stores and churches”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Breakfast was delicious but had a little selection. It had a safe and a small refrigerator which was a big help because we used it. It had a pizzeria at the entrance. My son slept good as well as my Aunt, Uncle, and mother.

View was mostly blocked by a roof. The breakfast only had 6 tables and the breakfast room was tiny. You could hear the noises of drums from an outdoor play.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HGL20169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    118
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
85
130
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel Alexander is located in the center of all the action just off Piazza del Commune. It was clean and well maintained and the staff was friendly. Bathroom was spacious as was the shower. Wifi was a bit spotty. Be sure to get clear directions if arriving by train!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Some of the rooms do not have a great view nor exposed wooden beams in the ceiling --The Da Vinci room had two small windows a partially blocked view. The room was large and modern, as was the bathroom.
The location is great, around the corner from the main square so you don't have to listen to the commotion, but are a few steps from everything (but from reading other reviews some rooms may actually face the main square).
Biggest problem is the unhappy blonde woman that scolds anyone that attempts to enter the breakfast room before she declares it open. Ignore the 8:00AM opening schedule, and wait until she invites you in or you will be in for an unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room above the level of Da Vinci room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you are looking for the perfect location, this is the place. It is literally right in the center of town. It's next to the main square with all of the good restaurants. Somehow we got upgraded to the top floor room and it was seriously incredible. We were in italy for a month, and this was hands down the best room we stayed in. It was huge with beautiful windows overlooking the entire valley.
For those of you worried about the infamous LTZ in the hill towns of Assisi, fear not. I was paranoid as ever about getting a huge ticket by driving into town. The typical signs are there saying not to drive in. There are even cameras. We drove around forever trying to figure out how to get in, and then just went for it. The guy at the front desk told me that they have not implemented this yet in Assisi, and the signs/cameras are there to deter people from driving in. Sometimes the police sit there and ask why you are driving in. Make sure you have your hotel confirmation. So don't sweat it and drive right in. The hotel will give you directions and a discount voucher to park outside the city.
TIP: Call the hotel in advance if you are driving. There are these pillars in the street that prevent you from driving to the hotel front. The hotel staff must come out and put these down or you will just be stuck in the middle of the road. The website doesn't say anything about this, so dont' forget or you will be in an akward situation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

In a quiet street off the centre of Assisi lies this gem. The breakfast is great as is the service. Unfortunately, we checked in when the guy wasn't there and had to carry our bags up 3 flights of stairs - torture! But very safe and a great base for Assisi as easy walk to everything. Highly recommended if you can handle stairs. Would return here again but this time with smaller bags!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After visiting Assisi and staying at the Hotel Alexander in 2011 we returned in May. Assisi is not a town to miss if you are visiting Italy. If you do get a chance to visit there we recommend the Hotel Alexander. The interior of the old stone building has been completely renovated. This B&B is well run, clean and very central in Assisi being on the edge of the main piazza. Try to get one of the rooms on the top floor and be stunned by the view over the valley below. You can see for miles, but if the top floor rooms are gone there is a deck on the very top of the building that will afford you a 360 degree view of it all. Simone Muccino the manager, will help you with any question you might have. Breakfast in the morning is typical Italian so don't be looking for ham and eggs but that isn't why you came to Italy, right. Stay here, you'll like it.....we came back.

Room Tip: We prefer the top floor rooms for the excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cicknryndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rougemont, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We only stayed one night in Assisi but we are glad that we stayed here. The window view was awesome - so peaceful and beautiful. The room and bathroom was tasteful but it was the view that was so awesome. The location was convenient and the service was great. Best meal in Italy was had at the hotels recomendation - loved this hotel - would definately stay here again !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#24 of 71 in Assisi
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#26 of 71 in Assisi
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#19 of 71 in Assisi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Piazza Chiesa Nuova 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alexander is situated in the hearth of the medieval town of Assisi; it looks out on a small friendly square and stands between the "Antique Town Hall" and the "Paternal Home of St. Francis". From this position is possible to reach quickly all the main monuments: the hotel is near "Piazza del Comune", the main historical town center, 70 meters from the "Basilica of St. Clare", 500 meters from the majestic "Basilica of St. Francis". Entirely restored and renovated in 2009, Hotel Alexander has 9 rooms all finely furnished and equipped with every comfort. The Alexander Hotel, entirely restored and renovated in 2009, has 8 rooms (6 standard and 2 junior suite) all with private bathrooms, tastefully furnished in modern style and very well cared in the selection of details and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing