We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and location”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Value and location”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in the hotel alexander in may. This hotel is about 6 or 7 rooms just about 50 metered from the main square. The rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. The location and views are fantastic. Pay the difference for the upgraded rooms as the views are worth it.

The breakfast is good and they give you the choice of taking breakfast in your room. The location is central to all sections of Assisi and it is nice to be able to run down to the square and enjoy the shops and restraunts. The only issue is they have no elevator for the high floor rooms but if you have a problem with steps then Assisi is not for you as it has steps and hills everywhere.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the difference for upgraded rooms or the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JI-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    121
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
86
132
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Giotto room which was lovely, very clean and spacious. Right in the heart of Assisi but in a very quiet area. It had an amazing view over Assisi. We were invited to have breakfast in the roof terrazza which was a beautiful experience. The manager Simone was really helpful and very friendly. Gave us great tips for dining in the evening. We highly recommend this reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anetta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel was truly good. Great location. The room was clean, modern and big, exactly like the pictures. The breakfast was good and the view on the terrace was beautiful. Definitely a great choice in Assisi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downtownapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I would go back here in a heart beat!

We had a very big room, spacious bathroom, and the staff was super friendly!

The best part was the rooftop terrace.

If I'm ever lucky enough to return to Assisi - I would most definitely stay at Hotel Alexander.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hotel Alexander in Assisi is set in a quaint little piazza a bit off the main drag. The hotel is new on the inside, and wonderfully old looking from the street. It's the kind of hotel that, when you walk past, you'd say to your companion, "Awww. I wish we could stay there."

Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and airy. Rooftop "porch" offered stunning views of Assisi. And breakfast was served to my family in our room! Plus, the price was right.

Tip: You can drive right up to the door of the hotel while you unpack, then move your car to the nearby garage. I wish I would have known that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

nice in-room breakfast incl in room rate
nice roof-top deck to view sunsets/countryside
no elevator to top rooms could be issue for some
very nice/helpful staff

Room Tip: The Raffael room has a great view from the window, even if the bed isnt the most comfortable. Churc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan_in_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
669 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,266 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I enjoyed my three night stay at the Hotel Alexander, but I’m not as enthusiastic as other reviewers. The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the small town, close to restaurants and sights, in a small piazza off the main street, so it’s very quite as far as street noise is concerned. Unfortunately, we had a screaming child staying in the room next to us and this we could easily hear!

I had thought it might be better to stay near the Basilica of San Francesco, at the other end of town, but, I’m glad we didn’t, as this was closer to other sites, restaurants and a bus stop to the train station. It’s an easy 15 minute walk to the Basilica.

Check in was fast, easy and friendly, but our room was slightly disappointing, not as nice as the pictures on the internet, but certainly OK and large by European standards, with a flat screen TV (no English channels) a small, but functional bathroom (rain shower, no tub) and all very clean. Bathroom amenities included soap, shampoo and shower caps plus a hairdryer. The main problem was that the beds were not comfortable. The mattress needed a mattress pad, because what would normally be “mattress buttons” were actually pieces of horizontal metal like pins which made laying on the bed uncomfortable. I prefer down comforters with duvet covers especially in hotels, and I was surprised to see bedspreads, which aren’t cleaned after each person’s use. The hotel is small, so breakfast which is the same each day, is served in your room by a very professional staff or on the roof top terrace, which wasn’t open while we were there (too early in the season). There is no 24 hour reception service, however someone is available by phone and you are given a key to the front door. We enjoyed the Otelloassisi restaurant which isn’t part of the hotel, but just under it.

Overall a very nice hotel, with a good location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#22 of 71 in Assisi
231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 71 in Assisi
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 71 in Assisi
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#25 of 71 in Assisi
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#18 of 71 in Assisi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Piazza Chiesa Nuova 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alexander is situated in the hearth of the medieval town of Assisi; it looks out on a small friendly square and stands between the "Antique Town Hall" and the "Paternal Home of St. Francis". From this position is possible to reach quickly all the main monuments: the hotel is near "Piazza del Comune", the main historical town center, 70 meters from the "Basilica of St. Clare", 500 meters from the majestic "Basilica of St. Francis". Entirely restored and renovated in 2009, Hotel Alexander has 9 rooms all finely furnished and equipped with every comfort. The Alexander Hotel, entirely restored and renovated in 2009, has 8 rooms (6 standard and 2 junior suite) all with private bathrooms, tastefully furnished in modern style and very well cared in the selection of details and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing