We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family-run hotel, excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Il Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Il Palazzo
Ranked #41 of 142 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
south
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful family-run hotel, excellent...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

Wonderful family-run hotel, excellent views over the street and houses to the valley, extremely friendly and helpful staff(owners), elevator and air cond. recently installed. Personality interiors in a old palazzo. Inexpensive no-nonsense easy access wlan. Freshly made delicious coffee for breakfast served acc.to your wishes. Only minuses no fridge in the room and the floor slightly dusty. Great location. Earlier reviews mentioned courtyard, where was that?

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    50
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
64
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Al
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

Very old building, but nicely remodeled inside. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location, just 200 meters to the Basilica of St. Francis. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Todds_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

The staff at Il Palazzo are just wonderful - helpful, friendly, charming. We loved the location and the romantic lounge in the hotel - perfect for that early evening cocktail! It was extremely hot when we were there, hence we did not use the outside courtyard, but that is also most pleasant. We were on the top floor - a lovely large room with magnificent view over the Umbrian countryside...and our only complaint would be that the heat and noise from the street below made it a little difficult to get to sleep. A fan in the room in summer would be a useful addition! Apart from that, we loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We just stayed one night in Assisi - the Il Palazzo is a great choice. Room (203) was perfect, and the rate was a reasonable E100. We have traveled quite a bit in Italy, and we have rarely encountered such friendly and helpful staff - these people should be commended. Location of the hotel in Assisi is perfect, and several rooms have beautiful views. Very clean and comfortable. When we return to Assisi, this is the place we will stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiminptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

Assisi may be the most serene city in Europe. Because it is protected by the hills and steep approaches that disgorge day trippers around the edges and they have to hike up into the town. Because the trippers are gone by teatime and don`t come along before breakfast. You can walk down the hill from hotel Il Palazzo, and from early in the morning the Basilica Sao Francesco is open, the glorious fresoes and prayers are quietly shared together. On Sunday, to sit ouside the Basilica whilst the whole world has its packed lunch in the piazza is just to see and hear ordinary peoples` pleasures as they should be. Up the street from the hotel are proud civic buildings, good restaurants and al fresco singers, a lovely night experience. In the autumn, on Hotel Il Palazzo balconies read a book at sunset as the the fog drifts like a slow procession up the bowl of the valley. Get up at dawn and see the fog tide recede on spires below at sun rise. It is spectacular and the city has peacefulness like no where else. Breakfast is a bit spartan, and it is just a comfortable hotel to rest the body and soul. Good value in a world venue like this.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stepaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Two friends and I stayed here in December. I was booking rather late for New Year's Eve in Assisi. I had heard very little about this place, but my other choices were all full so I took a chance. So glad I did! We got great rate through hotels.com; never having booked through a booking site like that before, I anxiously sent a couple of emails to the hotel itself--no problems whatsoever.

I had room 206 and my friends had room 201. These are all standards; we would have loved to stay in the superior rooms with views of the valley, which were likely a bit brighter, but these were already booked. No matter, our rooms were clean, comfortable, charming and (relatively) spacious. My bathroom, in particular, was huge. Heat and hot water were plentiful. The staff was very kind.

There are many stairs--why is it hotels in Assisi seem to mimic the town itself?--so this is not the best choice for those with mobility problems. And of course it is a small-town, traditional Italian 3-star, so if you are expecting all kinds of amenities you will be sorely disappointed. The building is very, very old, and so, while mostly refurbished and up-to-date, there are a few imperfections (there was some apparent water damage on one wall of my friends' room, for example, though nothing like that in mine). It is, however, a thoroughly charming, central and tasteful place to lay your head in Assisi.

To put this review in context, I have also stayed at La Pallotta in Assisi. La Pallotta is less expensive, but I feel Il Palazzo is justified in charging more. I very much enjoyed both hotels for what they are; they're quite priced fairly in my opinion. And I would reurn to either depending on the state of my pocketbook at the time! Assisi is a treasure.

  • Liked — Ambience and decor, cleanliness, staff, location.
  • Disliked — Not super-soundproofed (could hear doors opening and closing; this might bother very light sleepers).
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SFLeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed in this charming hotel in October, 2007. Great location on the street that connects the basilica with the main square. This is a special town with a different feel than most tourist towns of Italy. Maybe it's because so many tourists are attracted by the simple life of the town's patrons St Francis and St Clare. The basilica is beautiful and make sure to visit the tomb two levels below the floor. It is truly a holy place and gave us the chills walking quitely through the little chapel.The hotel is small, maybe 12 rooms. The building has been owned by the same family for 150 years. The building is actually one half of an old palazzo, with the owners living in the other half. It is not fancy. It is clean and the views on the upper floor rooms are spectacular. The rooms are small as are the in- room bathroom. Still, the price is very reasonable and the front desk staff very helpful. The one young lady is the daughter of the owners. Her mother and sister run a small restaurant in town. She recommended a different restaurant each night and they were all outstanding.When you go out for the night, she gives you a key to the front door as she will be in bed when you return. When the day tourists leave, this town is a jewel. Built on a hillside surrounded by 11th Century walls, little vehicular traffic, beautiful architecture, plenty of ice cream, what more could you want. Visit the church where St Francis was baptized. Take a bus down hill to the town below (Santa Maria degli Angli) and see the little chapel where Francis worshipped (it's actually inside a big cathedral). See the room where he died. Take a taxi out to the Carcere to see St Francis' mountain get-away. This town is truly a religious experience. THis hotel is a perfect place if you don't mind climbing a few stairs (no elevator and no bellboy). Spending more money to be closer to the basilica means you have an uphill walk to everything. Staying outside the walls means you have to drive to everything and miss the flavor of the town at night. We took a train from Rome (a couple of hours) and a taxi from the station. (the station is actually in Santa Maria degli Angli at the bottom of the hill). Taxi was 13 euro or more but it was several miles uphill to Assisi and a bus would have been a major pain with luggage. The bus service otherwise is cheap and convenient. Rick Steves recommends several hotels in this town, all of which are inexpensive and small. In 3 weeks in Italy, this was our favorite place. Can't wait to return.

  • Liked — location and the town itself
  • Disliked — several flights of stairs bu the view was worth it.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank K-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#38 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ancajani
Hotel Ancajani
#43 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lo Scudo
Lo Scudo
#72 of 142 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casina Colorata
La Casina Colorata
#20 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Case Brizi
Case Brizi
#16 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Palazzo

Property: Hotel Il Palazzo
Address: Via San Francesco 8, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Palazzo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Il Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing