We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Armentum Restaurant, Le Silve - what a disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Armentum Restaurant, Le Silve - what a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We drove several miles out of Assisi on very windy roads to reach this hotel in order to eat in the restaurant. What a disappointment. The service was unprofessional and the food of poor quality. A waste of effort and money. Don't bother making all that effort.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fionahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    96
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
77
206
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Friendly staff run this lovely hotel in a beautiful location. However the restaurant food is over-priced & not as good as they seem to think. The menu is large but did not change in the 4 days we were there, also the same menu for lunch ie little pasta , no salads etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tardiswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

Perfect place for communing with nature but don't expect to be commuting to nearby towns as the narrow and winding road (2kms of it is dirt) will put you off.

Peaceful, tranquil, quiet. Not at all the normal tourist trap. Very pleasant lodge-type hotel with an excellent restaurant.

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — our timber framed bed which skinned our shins
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nellie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

The setting of this rustic friendly hotel is simply breathtaking. The restaurant offers excellent cuisine and the manager is extremely helpful. My husband and I were married in Le Silve in the summer and we had a wonderful time ( as we had on our 3 previous visits). All of our guests commented on the good food (not bad as half our guests were French and usually love to critisize Italian cuisine) and the beautiful views. One must be prepared to drive up the long windy road to reach the hotel and although this poses no problems for most, it can be stressful for the inexperienced driver. However, it is well worth the ride. The secluded setting means that even Bambi may pop by for early breakfast on the terrace. The rooms are rustic and simple (no dvd players etc) with some rooms providing large spacious toilets. The self catering appartments are great for families or groups of friends - for some expect to drive an extra 5-10 mins. All in all a super place for simple relaxation-a good book, nature and good food and wine

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Don't know??
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EDLParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

First, they got out reservation wrong, and booked us in their so-called best room, instead of the agrotourism apartment that we wanted...However, that turned out to be a lucky thing, even though their best room was not worth the 200 Euro per night price tag. It was spartan, but clean. We stayed in their best room for three nights. Then, we moved to the apartments. They were VERY VERY dissappointing. The so-called full kitchen was striaght out of a trailer house. The bathroom shower didn't drain, and when it flooded, the beetles and earwigsin the basin floated around your feet. So, we left after two additional days, and forfieted the third night's charges. So far as the retaurant goes...we sat through three and one half hours of poor service. There was literally at least 30 minutes between courses. During the wait, we had to suffer through a fireplace that didn't draft, and kept filling the dining room with smoke. The staff had to open the windows to let the smoke out of the room. The food itself was not memorable. There are far better trattorias in Assisi. Although the scenery is very beautiful, the hotel is very dissapointing. Do not stay here. You are better off staying at one the the better hotels in Assisi. Or, getting a place from a relaible agrotourism agency.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bkisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

The view is fabulous although the drive is not for the weak at heart. There are three roads up the mountain - all one lane and some unpaved. We tried all three and found the road down through Spello to be the best but not the shortest.

We had a deluxe room with a terrace. The room had a few issues - such as a very musty smelling closet and no outlet in the bathroom. But on the upside there were two sinks in the bathroom and we had a large terrace with that great view. The first morning we noticed that the built in hairdryer was broken. We notified management and it was replaced the next day with a brand new dryer. Overall we were satisfied with the accomodations.

Our main issue was with the kitchen. Previous tripadvisor reviews spoke of the fabulous food. Maybe they have changed chefs but I have to disagree. We spent three nights and had dinner each night. About half of the first and second courses ordered were good but not great - the other half were not good at all. On one evening we sat for 45 minutes between the clearing of our first course and the arrival of our second course - and there were only 5 tables occupied. Because of the location the guests are pretty much a captive audience at dinner. You would not want to make the drive after dark and certainly not after consuming any alcohol - so most of the guests dine in.

If the food had been good we would have given the property a 4 - but given our disappointment with the dinners we have to rate the property a 2.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoawaysoonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in August, our first holiday away without the kids!

It is a beautiful place, very high, very quiet and peaceful. To get there as others have already said, is a gravely road in some parts and very steep. We hired a Fiat Panda 1.2 but it made it, mostly in 1st and 2nd gear though!

The hotel is in two parts, the rooms are in one building and the restaurant, breakast room and bar in another just a few yards away down a little slope or steps. At night you can sit outside and lean back in the iron chairs on the edge of the hill and look up to the stars. We saw a shooting star and a falling star.

The waiters and waitress were very friendly and if we sort of gave up trying to be understood (politely, of course) they would say 'no, no, tell me again', they were really lovely. There was also a lovely guy who used to be a Sherpa working there in reception, very helpful.

The food was excellent, 7 courses! We were stuffed. Sometimes we ate in the day either at the hotel or in another village that we were visiting and just went to the bar in the evening for a cup of tea, and this was presented to us with little chocolates aranged on a plate and a bowl of different tea bags ie., Earl Grey, English Breakfast etc.,

There is no a/c but luckily the week we went was a little cooler than it had been, so we were fine. The room had a tiled floor, tv, hairdryer, shower, bath etc., and a fridge. Very comfortable.

Although it takes about 20 minutes to get to the bottom of the hill before you can actually drive anywhere else there are plenty of places to visit. Assisi was lovely. Don't wear shorts that are too short like mine were, above the knee, if you want to go into the Basilica of St Francis. I noticed some people had bought sarongs to wrap around their legs but we went away and came back another day which was a good idea as it was busy but when we went back on the Friday it was much less so.

We also visited Gubbio which has an iron cage that takes you to the top of the hill where there are wonderful views and church.

Spello was the closest village, very pretty little place. We had lunch there one day.

Would definitely go back. Wonderful countryside. Great holiday.

  • Liked — The beautiful scenery and rustic buildings.
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelovecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
4.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
4.0 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi

Property: Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi
Address: Localita Armenzano, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#5 Spa Hotel in Assisi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armenzano Romantik Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing