We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2008

The setting of this rustic friendly hotel is simply breathtaking. The restaurant offers excellent cuisine and the manager is extremely helpful. My husband and I were married in Le Silve in the summer and we had a wonderful time ( as we had on our 3 previous visits). All of our guests commented on the good food (not bad as half our guests were French and usually love to critisize Italian cuisine) and the beautiful views. One must be prepared to drive up the long windy road to reach the hotel and although this poses no problems for most, it can be stressful for the inexperienced driver. However, it is well worth the ride. The secluded setting means that even Bambi may pop by for early breakfast on the terrace. The rooms are rustic and simple (no dvd players etc) with some rooms providing large spacious toilets. The self catering appartments are great for families or groups of friends - for some expect to drive an extra 5-10 mins. All in all a super place for simple relaxation-a good book, nature and good food and wine

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Don't know??
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EDLParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    97
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
79
214
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2007

First, they got out reservation wrong, and booked us in their so-called best room, instead of the agrotourism apartment that we wanted...However, that turned out to be a lucky thing, even though their best room was not worth the 200 Euro per night price tag. It was spartan, but clean. We stayed in their best room for three nights. Then, we moved to the apartments. They were VERY VERY dissappointing. The so-called full kitchen was striaght out of a trailer house. The bathroom shower didn't drain, and when it flooded, the beetles and earwigsin the basin floated around your feet. So, we left after two additional days, and forfieted the third night's charges. So far as the retaurant goes...we sat through three and one half hours of poor service. There was literally at least 30 minutes between courses. During the wait, we had to suffer through a fireplace that didn't draft, and kept filling the dining room with smoke. The staff had to open the windows to let the smoke out of the room. The food itself was not memorable. There are far better trattorias in Assisi. Although the scenery is very beautiful, the hotel is very dissapointing. Do not stay here. You are better off staying at one the the better hotels in Assisi. Or, getting a place from a relaible agrotourism agency.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bkisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2007

The view is fabulous although the drive is not for the weak at heart. There are three roads up the mountain - all one lane and some unpaved. We tried all three and found the road down through Spello to be the best but not the shortest.

We had a deluxe room with a terrace. The room had a few issues - such as a very musty smelling closet and no outlet in the bathroom. But on the upside there were two sinks in the bathroom and we had a large terrace with that great view. The first morning we noticed that the built in hairdryer was broken. We notified management and it was replaced the next day with a brand new dryer. Overall we were satisfied with the accomodations.

Our main issue was with the kitchen. Previous tripadvisor reviews spoke of the fabulous food. Maybe they have changed chefs but I have to disagree. We spent three nights and had dinner each night. About half of the first and second courses ordered were good but not great - the other half were not good at all. On one evening we sat for 45 minutes between the clearing of our first course and the arrival of our second course - and there were only 5 tables occupied. Because of the location the guests are pretty much a captive audience at dinner. You would not want to make the drive after dark and certainly not after consuming any alcohol - so most of the guests dine in.

If the food had been good we would have given the property a 4 - but given our disappointment with the dinners we have to rate the property a 2.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgoawaysoonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in August, our first holiday away without the kids!

It is a beautiful place, very high, very quiet and peaceful. To get there as others have already said, is a gravely road in some parts and very steep. We hired a Fiat Panda 1.2 but it made it, mostly in 1st and 2nd gear though!

The hotel is in two parts, the rooms are in one building and the restaurant, breakast room and bar in another just a few yards away down a little slope or steps. At night you can sit outside and lean back in the iron chairs on the edge of the hill and look up to the stars. We saw a shooting star and a falling star.

The waiters and waitress were very friendly and if we sort of gave up trying to be understood (politely, of course) they would say 'no, no, tell me again', they were really lovely. There was also a lovely guy who used to be a Sherpa working there in reception, very helpful.

The food was excellent, 7 courses! We were stuffed. Sometimes we ate in the day either at the hotel or in another village that we were visiting and just went to the bar in the evening for a cup of tea, and this was presented to us with little chocolates aranged on a plate and a bowl of different tea bags ie., Earl Grey, English Breakfast etc.,

There is no a/c but luckily the week we went was a little cooler than it had been, so we were fine. The room had a tiled floor, tv, hairdryer, shower, bath etc., and a fridge. Very comfortable.

Although it takes about 20 minutes to get to the bottom of the hill before you can actually drive anywhere else there are plenty of places to visit. Assisi was lovely. Don't wear shorts that are too short like mine were, above the knee, if you want to go into the Basilica of St Francis. I noticed some people had bought sarongs to wrap around their legs but we went away and came back another day which was a good idea as it was busy but when we went back on the Friday it was much less so.

We also visited Gubbio which has an iron cage that takes you to the top of the hill where there are wonderful views and church.

Spello was the closest village, very pretty little place. We had lunch there one day.

Would definitely go back. Wonderful countryside. Great holiday.

  • Liked — The beautiful scenery and rustic buildings.
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livelifelovecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I had high hopes for this hotel. Website and reviews painted a great picture. The front desk staff was beyond friendly and helpful ( jennifer and Fabiola). The site on a hilltop is stunning but comes at the price of a 30-40 minutes drive up the mountain on hairpins.. from either Assisi or via Spello( not to be missed). The rooms are sparse in decor and rather functional without any style. Rated Four Stars in Italy, it felt more like a three stars. Friendly Staff emanated mostly from other European countries so few know the area.Food was great and breakfast on terrace is fantastic.
The grounds however looked like it needed some attention.
Pool was not heated, Tennis court overgrown with weeds so was the minigolf. The landscaping was overgrown with flowers, weeds and grasses. It seems the owners of the property spend
very little to upkeep the grounds which is a shame as the site is beyond stunning. Expect less and you might be pleasantly surprised. After 2 days here, the drive gets tiresome.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RayPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Hotel Le Silve is an outstanding small 4* hotel.

Located in a nature reserve, almost at the top of Monte Subasio, about a 10 minute drive from Assissi, it provides the perfect contrast to this incredibly beautifl city.

The hotel, which because of it's location is only for those travelling by car, has the most wonderful views over a range of rolling Umbian hills. The dawn and sunsets here are breathtaking.

This beautiful stone built, dof friendly hotel perfectly combines the old, restored rooms with modern appointments. There is a reasonable sized carpark and some excellent, if challenging walks in the vicinity.

The best about this hotel is the chef, the quality of the food, the size of the winelist and the quality of staff in every department.

Well recommended

  • Liked — Everything about this hotel is first class
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentroStorico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

If you are looking for a place off the beaten trail in the hills of Umbria or Tuscany, Le Silve is the place to go. Our family of 5 booked two rooms at Le Silve for a restful and relaxing few days between Venice and Rome, and were anything but disappointed. We all enjoyed immensely the horseback riding with Marco, the owner, and Giovanni, who runs the stables. Our children had fun feeding the cattle and pigs. The pool was refreshing. Our farmhouse rooms were quite comfortable, though the mattresses could use replacement (our only complaint). The food was spectacular! Americans appear to have not yet found this place, which was another plus for us. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tbonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
4.0 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 71 in Assisi
498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
627 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 71 in Assisi
732 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi

Property: Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi
Address: Localita Armenzano, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#5 Spa Hotel in Assisi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armenzano Romantik Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing