We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pallotta Assisi
Ranked #12 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a nice, very inviting, quite, small hotel located towards the upper end of Assis. We had no problem finding it (the old fashioned way sans GPS) and parking was just a block and a half away. Staff were very helpful and breakfast just right. Our room on the first floor had a curtainless shower which might have been a problem if we'd been taking several showers per day. However, cleaning staff we're waiting as soon as we left the room for breakfast and when we returned, the floor, etc. we're all dry. If you don't like stairs though, you might want to avoid Assis - maybe try Lucca which is very flat but just as enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Herbie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 358 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

hotel Pallotta is located in the center of one of the most beautiful hill towns you will ever see.  Assisi's buildings are all made of a buff colored stone which gives the whole town a visual warmth that does not depend on the sun.  Hotel Pallotta  is situated beautifully with its graceful stairway entrance at an angle to the street, with a lovely arch low and to the right of the entrance ( which leads down to a wine bar), it's name to the right of the entrance doorway.  Inside, the foyer is cLean and attractive and rooms are up another flight of stairs.  Midway up the stairs is a landing with a large niche in the wall that displays a lovely scene of Assisi made of painted tiles.  The walls in the public spaces are graced by watercolors, prints and other art pieces depicting Assisi.  We had a two bed room, as we requested, which was clean and comfortable with windows facing the street so we could preview the activity outside before going out.  There was a very nice breakfast daily, which included yogurt, cheese and ham for those of us who need protein in the a.m.  There was also a tempting array of pastries.  Our host, Stefano, was most accommodating when we advised him that one person in our party had to eat gluten free and offered to provide gluten free items with breakfast.  There is a small tower that is part of the hotel and one spiral stair up from the sleeping rooms that is a magical place. There , one sees four large arched windows, each opening to one of the four directions, from which one cAn see all the rooftops and domes of Assisi as well as a view up to the old castle that is the Rocca Majore aNd then out and down to the beautiful Umbrian valley below.  What heaven, to sip Limoncello and watch the sunset from this spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We loved Assisi and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Although some complained about the access to the hotel, you just have to know what to expect. We took a bus from the train station which dropped us off at Piazza Matteotti. From there it was an easy downhill walk to the hotel (walking back up to the piazza was a little harder but still fine). The main piazza is just down the street. The room are clean with a decent amount of space and amazing views. The one complaint I had was there is no shower stall or curtain, so water gets all over the bathroom. The weather was cool during our stay, so there was no need for air conditioning. Wifi was free and fast.

The staff was friendly and there were delicious baked goods at breakfast. We thought it was the best breakfast of our 2 week Italian vacation! Also don't miss their restaurant. We had a lovely, tasty dinner there!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cl361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Hotel Pallotta is central to Assisi about one city block from what I believe is best described as the town square. If you aren’t familiar with Assisi, think San Francisco like hills, cobblestone and having to walk to get around. If that’s not for you, you might want to look for something outside the city or on the edge. The better units would be those away from the street as there is no air conditioning and there will be late evening/early morning noise from delivery drivers and people. The units are a bit rustic and you get to experience what I call a shower potty – that’s a shower right where you stand if you are in front of the toilet. The hotel is also not for those who might have a physical limitation preventing them from walking up a steep hill for 100-200’ and walking up one flights of severe stairs.
The owners/staff are wonderful people and work with you to make your stay a pleasant one. The view is fantastic. You cannot beat the value for the money and if you like central location, aren’t a light sleeper, are in decent shape and don’t mind a more rustic/simple accommodation, this place could be excellent for you. You also get 10% off the restaurant which is outstanding.

A note .re ZTLs. This is in a ZTL but it is not a camera ZTL and you are allowed to drive near the hotel and drop off your luggage and people but you will find that no matter you will need to haul your luggage a short distance and might feel awkward driving through tourists. If you drive, I would suggest taking advantage of their 10 Euro offer for daily parking, it’s a deal.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street (away from the same side as the front door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a recommendation from someone and I had doubts about it before booking. We had an awful time trying to find the place and finally parked in a lot and had to take all our luggage down a steep hill to get there and then climb steep narrow steps into the place. The room had no air conditioning and the noise on the street went on into the wee hours. The rooms never cooled off and it was almost impossible to sleep. The bathroom was a new experience and more like an RV bathroom. When you took a shower everything got wet and you had to mop up the mess in order to use the bathroom. The hills are extremely steep in Assisi and definitely not for everyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ckmrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel Pallotta Assisi is a small and nice hotel perfectly situated in the center of Assisi. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a small viewing room accessible via narrow stairs from the top floor. We found it fun to sit there during the evening enjoying 360 Deg view and nice evening breeze.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shoco_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Two nights in this charming old world hotel was not long enough. So clean and full of hospitality The hotel is centrally located to the piazza a nd down hill walk to St Francis Basillica. Breakfast was generous with a yummy lrmon cake that was so delicious. The breakfast room is open all day for free water,tea and cookies the patio room at the top of our casa had breathtaking views and ambience. If you are coming here. Stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlsmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 71 in Assisi
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pallotta Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pallotta Assisi

Address: Via San Rufino 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: $36 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pallotta Assisi 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...in a medieval house in the heart of the city. A comfortable, welcoming room, the windows stretching up to the roofs of the old houses... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pallotta Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing