We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we ate there twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Dei Priori

Osteria Dei Priori
Ranked #20 of 233 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $49
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant Osteria dei Priori is beautiful and very good.
Reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were in Assisi for just two nights in September and on the strenghth of the Trip Advisor reviews we ate at the Priori on the first night. A wonderful meal and great service. It is small, so fills up quickly - we got the last table. On our second night, we fully intended to try somewhere else but just loved it so much we went back again and enjoyed it just as much. Thoroughly recommended. Definitely a bias on meat based dishes as Italians prefer to eat locally sourced food - therefore there was no fish on the menu at all - but it does mean everything is fresh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    230
    51
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Just ate lunch with my wife. Wonderful service and a very welcoming restaurant ambiance. Had the duck carpaccio and the marrow main dish. Photo attached. Zucchini still crunchy with the cheese melted and a tomato sauce. Just delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
379 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We happened by and went in early with no reservation. They informed us they did not open until 7:30 but offered a reservation. We took it & came back & we are glad we did! My wife being vegetarian found the menu limited but the chef came out and spoke with her and she ordered a spaghetti with truffles and tomatoes. I ordered a hearty meal. My starter was fabulous, excellent and divine. It was an eggplant souffle with truffles and cherry tomatoes and a pesto cream sauce. It was so good, I thought about ordering it for dessert. My entree was the wild boar stew with green vegetables and apples. Very good!! New did not order dessert. 2 carafes of vino (1 white & 1 red). Total bill - €41. Great value

Helpful?
Thank rhpatt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“warming~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

very kind people, good music, delicious food, everything is very very good to us.... easy ti find~ as like family~ they welcome us~ so thak you~

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subin21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Assisi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Small, cozy, restaurants with 8 - 10 tables not far from the Piazza del Commune. The owner, Sabrina, doubles as the waitress to oversee the needs and have direct contact with her patrons. The night I was there, she was aided by her father giving that family touch. Originally from Naples, she also had a stint in Rome before coming to Assisi.

Primi was a penne with wild mushroom and wild boar. Flavors were harmonious with and nicely seasoned with parsley (€9). Secondi was two thin slices of pork, lightly seasoned with pecorino, then rolled and roasted, in a browned sour cherry sauce. This was served with sauteed spinach, sprinkled with sesame seeds and the dish garnished with a balsamic reduction (€15).

Its amazing that, at this writing, the restaurant has been open only four months. The chef is doing great things obviously. Ask about her family's hotel: Hotel Lieto Soggiorno, recently opened and just around the corner. While I did not stay here, if run with the same quality and attention, might be a great deal as well. Would only recommend a better wine list.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeBroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Dei Priori also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria Dei Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing