We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place”
Review of Osteria Dei Priori

Osteria Dei Priori
Ranked #19 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $52
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The restaurant Osteria dei Priori is beautiful and very good.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fantastic place”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

If you're in Assisi, hunt this place down. Tucked away, this little gem is 10 tables so it never over stretches its staff. Run by a married couple, they are so welcoming.
I had the greatest ragu in italy. Awesome!!
Nice ambience, great wine, fantastic chocolate cake!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattt782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    238
    53
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Exellent Restaurant”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great food and service. A perfect little ten table restaurant. Our family of four with our daughters aged 11 and 8 were treated like gold.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So good we broke our rule and went back...”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have been traveling in Italy for 6 weeks now and had many fine meals, but this restaurant is quite special. The menu is both Italian, regional AND original. We found the hospitality just as friendly as the other reviewers.

Finally, interesting and delicious antipasti dishes, not just more variations on ham and cheese. Finally, nicely balanced secondi, matching beautifully cooked meat with fresh vegetables. Last of all, amazing deserts (with charmingly dodgy translations!)

We never go back to the same restaurant, but tonight we couldn't resist. Prices are good value and the house wine excellant, but trust me, you will find room for an extra course or two so skimp on lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Sabrina Confessore is the delightful owner of this recently opened little restaurant in the heart of Assisi. Various people on our retreat liked it so much that she was fully booked every evening! The food is delicious and imaginative made by her Neopolian chef. Her mother and father own the Hotel Lieto Soggiorno nearby.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate47a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect dining experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at the Osteria dei Priori last night, and it was one of the best dining experiences we have ever had - anywhere. We decided to try Osteria because it rated so highly on Trip Advisor, and when we checked the reviews, most were written in Italian and rated at 5 stars. A very good sign, we thought. And so it was. Everything at the Osteria was top-notch: from the gracious welcome by Sabrina Confessore, the owner and manager, to the warm and friendly atmosphere, to (of course) the delicious meal. Sabrina translated the menu for us, and made recommendations - which we followed and appreciated. We had the chance to meet Luigi, the chef, as we left the restaurant - a great way to end the evening. Try this restaurant when in Assisi. Recommend making reservations - there are only about 10 tables. Enjoy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Dei Priori also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria Dei Priori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing