We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carpediem Assisi Living Club
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We booked this time-share resort through RCI for July 2012. We had read all the Tripadvisor reviews so were forewarned. The setting in the hills of Umbria is truly beautiful, and In many respects the resort is very nice: our unit had updated kitchen and bathroom; pool with view was incredible; inexpensive breakfasts available if ordered the night before; office staff generally helpful.

In any other season we would have overlooked many inconveniences, but the extreme heat made our unit almost unbearable between 11:00 am and 11:00 pm when things finally cooled down. The units are not air-conditioned, even though there is some type of non-functioning AC on the wall. The front desk kindly lent us their office fan, which was the only thing that prevented us from moving out after a couple nights. Even though the air cooled down nicely once the sun went down, the radiant heat from the stone walls and tile roof kept things warm until late in the evening. Most of the other guests seemed to be Italian, and I'm not sure they minded much. But being from Texas, we had a hard time sleeping without AC with temps in the 90's.

Our 1-BR unit with sleeper sofa was very tiny for our family of 2 adults/2 teenagers. You could not even open doors or drawers all the way because the furniture was too big for the rooms.
But we made it work.

And, of course, we did not book this resort to stay in our unit all day! It is in a great location for seeing Umbria, and we took day trips every day to near-by towns like Perugia, Todi, Orvieto, Bevagna and Spello -- not to mention trips into Assisi. The 2 restaurants near the hotel were both good but mainly just back-ups when we were too tired at night to drive anywhere else. We did not use the kitchen in our unit at all, except the refrigerator - too hot to cook!

There was Wi-Fi only in the reception area (after you paid for it), and one day it did not work. There were 2 American-style washing machines and 1 dryer - 1 load cost 8 euros. The pool was very nice, but the tables and chairs filled up quickly with vacationing Italians first thing in the morning (not a problem for us day-trippers). Pool tips for Americans: you must bring your own beach towels -- they do not provide any kind of pool towels. You also mush wear swim caps, which they sell for 2 euros in the office.

All in all, we enjoyed our time at Carpe Diem. We tried not to be too put-out by all those little things that can inconvenience the American tourist - just kept repeating "location, location, location!"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    27
    16
    17
See reviews for
31
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Everything seemed to be nice when we decided to booked this place. Our purpose was to spent one week in Assisi making short trips to San Marino, Rome etc.
We are travelling with motorbike, so we are not expecting luxury, but...
1. Air conditioning was out of order. It's impossible to sleep when the temperature in the bedroom is about +35/C.
2. Fridge made a lot of noise and was a good warmer. All staff inside it was too warm. Ice melted in the freezer.
3. WiFi worked only in reception.
4. There was no field for mobile phones inside the rooms.
5. There was fleas in one wardrobe (the thing we noticed just when we was leaving)

I understood, that the hotel was not going to repair these things. After four nights we left Assisi. We got a nice place with working fridge and air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rytkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Assisi hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were 3 adults and stayed for 7 nights in this one bedroom apartment.There must have been quite a bit of improvements in the last year. For example: satellite TV available in the unit and WiFi available at reception. Yes the main bed and the sleeper couch need urgent replacement,but it is was acceptable. You are in Italy and things will not be as at home, so bear with it. They do things different! New gas stove was build in. Bathroom was neat with shower only-as in all 5 places we stayed in Italy.The location is perfect to use for exploring Umbria-a bit farther(2hours) from Florence but reachable for a day trip. Assisi is beautiful and not to be missed. By far the most beautiful hilltown we visited-and we visited a lot of beautiful places.To get there: Follow directions to Assisi until you get the first Guardo Tandino boards up in the mountain. Go through Assisi city gate/arch. From there follow the road for 5.5km. You will pass 2 restaurants across from each other before you get to the Assisi Carpediem Living club board on the left. It is lit up at night. Turn left and go to reception at the top. If you are unfamiliar with the area it is a bit tricky to get there the first time. You do need a car!Try to get there during daylight. I will recommend it to anyone not too fussy and wants a base for exploring. We loved it and will use it again any time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LandiGauteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The entire Assisi experience is spectacular. To start the resort is hard to find. The GPS coordinates supplied by a previous review was a great help to find the local. From some of the reviews we prepared for the worst but it wasn't that bad. A car is necessary as the local is nestled a short distance outside of Assisi as I would compare to the mountains of North Carolina. We went in October and each morning we would stand on the patio and with a refreshing chill in the air while taking in the splendor of the rolling hills. It was a great base for exploring. Cortona, Florence, Chianti, San Giminango Siena, and Rome are all accessible by car (1-2 hour drive) and the train is also an option as it is very close. We used the Kitchen a lot. it was very well furnished for our culinary needs. We shopped in Perugia or the outskirts Cortona on our return from up north and took advantage of fresh ingredients at the markets. What I wouldn't give to have fresh arugula every night, Throughout our travels in Italy, it felt good to get back to the resort. All of the issues with stocking the units with the essentials stated in other reviews have been resolved. It seems that these type of reviews are looked at and effort is given to correct problems that are brought to the managements attention, I commend them for that. Does the place need a face lift, yes it does, but I would return tomorrow. No its not fancy and if that is the expectation then your best bet is a Rome Hotel. My wife a two teenage sons had the experience of a lifetime and this local was part of it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MBSalomone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
226 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We first visited Carpediem Assisi in 2007 and made a return visit in 2010. Contrary to some of the reviews we have read we have had two good experiences there. Though a little hard to find the first time, it is a great base for exploring Umbria and Assisi and for keeping costs down by self catering - though the nearby restaurants are fine for dinner if you are willing to give them a go. The apartments are minimalist but clean and the reception staff tolerate non-Italian speakers well. There are limited activities (we have only visited in the off season) but that is OK too as we aren't seeking swimming pool and tennis court activities but a base for cultural exploring and it does this well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ConstantTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel using RCI timeshare week.

All furniture and fixtures are very old and run down. Same with bathrooms, doors in the showers are all broken. No bath tubs.

Hotel has no internet whatsoever, not even WiFi in the reception area. Not even one single computer with internet to use. One has to drive down to Assisi to find internet cafe.

Stove is very old, barely working, probably from 1970s. No dishwasher, no washer and drier in the unit. Outside washer and drier are available for the ridiculous price of 5 Euro each. Gym is very old and rundown with machines also from 1970s.

On the last day manager asked us to remove all garbage from the unit and to do all dishes, otherwise they threatened to charge us 40 Euros.

Hotel also has a surcharge for local phone calls.

This is by no means a luxurious resort for vacationing that timeshare is supposed to be. Its just a place to sleep where you don't want to stay any longer than that.

We could get a gorgeous resort in US for the same timeshare week including all the amenities thinkable but ended up in this hole.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlphaRomeoTBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

VERY disappointed in the amenities of this resort. Was poorly stocked with basic supplies. When we ran out of toilet paper and went to request more we were told to wait a couple of hours until the lady was coming to restock. After citing our need for toilet paper now she reluctantly went to get some from her magic TP vault! The furnishing were scant and VERY uncomfortable. I loved that we were so close to Assisi, but you definitely need a car to get around. They advertise they have a shuttle, but after our toilet paper experience we certainly didn't trust that they would pick us up! We did have a lovely view from our living room of the hills and farm houses. That we loved!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottooexcited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assisi
6.1 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
11.9 mi away
Domus Volumnia Residence
Domus Volumnia Residence
#24 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Da Angelo
Hotel Da Angelo
#36 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpediem Assisi Living Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpediem Assisi Living Club

Property: Carpediem Assisi Living Club
Address: SS 444 del Subasio, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carpediem Assisi Living Club 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carpediem Assisi Living Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpediem Assisi Living Club Hotel Assisi
Carpediem Assisi Living Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing