We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idyllic location, great quality accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti
Ranked #2 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I spent a week here in early April 2013 with my husband and two 5 year-old children. We stayed in one of the self-catering flats. The flats are in a very nice building that stands on its own on top of a hill with beautiful countryside all around. The place is absolutely idyllic, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The flat is extremely well furnished, clean and neat. On the ground floor there is a common room free to use by anyone renting one of the flats (of which there are about 5). The common room has a big table, a barbeque, a coffee machine, and a separate area with a washing machine and a kitchen. This is perfect for several families going on holiday together, each wanting their own flat but wanting to have a space where to be together, especially around food. The outside space is also fantastic. There is a garden that is fenced all around so kids can roam free in it, and a good size pool (which we didn't use because it was too early in the year and still too cold). The owners were very attentive, kind and personable. We didn't use the restaurant so we can't comment on the food but there are plenty of reviews here saying that the restaurant serves amazing food. The location is perfect for visiting Umbria, being about half way between Gubbio and Spoleto and only a few kilometers from Assisi. I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for beauty, peace and quiet. A car is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti as part of a two-week trip in May 2012. It is a lovely place with well-kept grounds, comfortable suites, and a beautiful vista. The married couple that runs the place could not be kinder. Alex is the most eager, gracious, and attentive host, and his wife seems to be a kind yet somewhat introverted woman who is the most amazing of chefs. We especially loved the dogs that roam the place and happily receive the attention of guests. Our main problem was that we were sold the place by our travel agent when we wanted something different. We were looking for a respite in the middle of a busy tour of Italy. Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti is more of a home base suited for day trips. It was not a place ideally suited for linger and relax. Alex's kindness manifests itself in a need to feed his guests. We found it difficult to enjoy our morning coffee without being pressured to eat. Although lovely, the place is small and does not leave much space to roam. Tucked into the hill above the road to Assisi, there were not great places to go running and even riding a bike to town would be hazardous. We longed for some physical activity to make up for the incredible food that Alex pushed on us. However, going anywhere required that we trek out in our car. There were several guests who said that they come back each year for a week, and we enjoyed talking to the regulars. It is situated such that we had wonderful day trips to Gubbio and even Siena (on a whim that was surprisingly doable). Unfortunately, we felt that the day trips were almost mandatory and did not feel comfortable handing around or find much else to do had we. Price-wise, we thought that it was a little high, but not unreasonable. The prices were not transparent, and the cost of the meals and wine was more than I expected when we checked out. We were directed to the place by a travel agent who did not understand what we wanted. I think that many people would love this place and find it heavenly. I think that it is especially great for mature couples who love good food, a picturesque view, and being treated with extravagant hospitality. For a younger, more active couples who favor authenticity and simplicity, another place may be a better bet.

Room Tip: All the suites seemed pretty nice; however, small bathrooms with awkward showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheyeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a place in Heavan.Perfect rest,perfect food and a perfect family.We have returned for the last 12 years and each time there is never anything to complain about.The home cooked food outshines all restaurants and the continued welcome is excellant.For a restful and relaxing holiday visit this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1945alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Apartment: 2nd floor (on the right end of the house). 2 bedrooms & bathrooms, little living / dining room. Very nice with views to the pool from the kitchen. Good size bedrooms & bathrooms. Beds are good. Kitchen is small but adequate for serious cooking. Clean. Voices from downstairs / apartment next door can be heard (moving the chairs, taking a shower etc.).
Garden: well taken care of. Quiet. Beautiful view to all directions (especially over the valley to Perugia). Very relaxing and peaceful (as long as all guests pay attention not to disturb other´s seclusion; we were lucky to have such neighbors). Each apartment has a table and 4 chairs in front of the house (tables are quite small). Enough deck chairs around the pool. Extra credit to big sun shades. Pool is good, nothing to complain about (lots of bees around).
Shared dining room (with open fireplace for barbecuing): Big table. We used fireplace a lot and it worked ok. Coffee machine (good coffees and hot chocolate, not free). Washer in the backroom. Used it as well, worked well.
Service: Alessio is almost too good to be true. Overwhelming. Very helpful and considerate (you can tell he has had very demanding guests!).
Dining at the hotel (Santa Maria degli Ancillotti): Super! Excellent food & service. Expensive. Breakfast is good as well.
Surroundings: Loved the area. You need a car to get around. We like Umbria even better than Toscany. Must visit at least Assisi, Perugia, Santa Maria degli Angeli.
Best ice-cream (Oxy-bar) and pizza (Pic-Nic, opens at 5 pm) only minutes down the road (turn left) in the village of Tordibetto. Both take away.
Delicious home made fresh pasta (lasagne etc) at the cheese & meat shop in Tordibetto. Excellent (and quite reasonable) grocery on the way to Bastia.
We went shopping in Bastia (our shopper was a teenager). Not so expensive & crowded as Assisi.
Do not walk to the nearby villages (traffic is very reckless, fast driving, not enough space for pedestrians).
We had slight difficulties finding the right road up to Santa Maria degli Ancillotti. Our navigator didn´t recognize the street address.
All in all we got what we went for: relaxing 10 days in beautiful Umbria. Our children (daughter 16, son 10) loved it as well.

Room Tip: Apartment upstairs (on the right end).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norrviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My sister, cousin and her partner and I had the most wonderful stay for five nights at the Santa Maria Degil Ancillotti apartments in early October. We had read all the magnificent reviews previously made and knew we were in for a treat. We were definitely not let down! From the minute we arrived until the minute we left, we felt like we were the most important and valued guests to have ever stayed and we very sad to have to go and move on to our next holiday spot! Alessio and his family are the most generous and gracious hosts. The peace and tranquility of staying in the beautiful rolling hills of Umbria was so special. The location of the apartments so close to both 'amazing Assisi and perfect Perugia' was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights dining experience down at the main farm house - delicious! Another night we took advantage of the roomy kitchen and common dining room and shared a marvellous combined effort meal with fellow guests. Great to learn how others from such a diverse country (Israel)from our own (New Zealand) live!
I can not recommend this place more highly and definitely intend coming back to stay some time in the future - we have talked about making a block booking for a holiday with extended family - it would be the perfect place!

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment - great size and the two bathrooms were a good size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MezzyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 7 nights with our friends this October at this charming spot just outside of Assisi. This family run inn was exceptional for it's charm, food, comfort and hospitality. Beautiful pets roaming the grounds, olive trees and wonderful food made this a perfect spot to end our days after touring the Umbrian region. If we were too tired to go out to eat in the evening, there was delicious food to enjoy right there at the inn with family cooks that delighted our palate!!! We were welcomed each morning by a delicious breakfast cooked at our request and the loveliest of cappucinos. The whole property is full of history which also adds to the charm. You will not be disappointed if you choose this spot for your stay in Umbria! What a memorable trip!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent two nights here in late October and found it to be our favorite hotel in all our stays in Italy. This is our second visit to Italy but the first to Umbria. We found it to be warm and welcoming. The owners are on the premises giving exceptional service even to putting hearts on my cappuccino and making eggs for our breakfast. A family truly devoted to service. Thanks for making our stay "Too good to be true".

Ashelbill

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
3.2 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 71 in Assisi
537 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#21 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
141 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 71 in Assisi
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
681 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
489 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 71 in Assisi
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti

Address: via Santa Tecla 42, 06086, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Price Range: $132 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing