We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place away from the hub”

Trattoria da Erminio
Ranked #50 of 232 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice place away from the hub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Da Erminio turned out to be a real gem in such a touristy place as Assisi. If really hungry treat yourself with the daily 3-course menu always with an example how not only men can handle grilled meat...
The pasta is home-made and very tasty, so is the wine and all together contributes to the problem you'll have when it's time to get up again, very nice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    152
    60
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful small town family trattoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

First, the people are super friendly! Ricardo is awesome. The food is delicious & very reasonably priced (as is the wine) and the atmosphere is wonderful if you get a chance to sit outside in the evening. Old town Assisi on the stone laden streets of a quiet side street. Very nice. We went twice our first trip and made a point of going back on our next trip. Excellent!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireland_Addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal in an hidden corner of Assisi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After visiting the Rocca in Assisi, our kids were very tired and Hungry, so we decided to find a restaurant nearby. We walked down tbe stairs towards the center, when we saw a sign pointing to Trattoria da Erminio in a secondary road. We decided to try, as we like restaurants which are a bit out of the main touristic paths. The menu was ok (I must say that in Assisi restaurantes tend to have very similar menus) and the prices were average. The restaurant is not very big (again we like it) and the atmosphere inside was very pleasant and warm. We had 4 bruschetta to start with, and then "braciola alla brace" (grilled pork chop), "zuppa di ceci" (chickpeas soup), "cinghiale" (boar) and "gnocchi con fonduta di formaggio" (gnocchi with melted cheese). We drank water. Waiters were kind and always informative. The food was not outstanding, still everything was very good. The bill was ok, perhaps a bit higher than we expected about (57 euros).

Based on our experience, if you are in that part of the town, the Trattoria is a good option for a good meal in a pleasant location.

Helpful?
Thank pb_trento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, warm environment, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We ate here twice and were thrilled with the food, and the attentive and genuinely friendly waiter. Family run, this place goes all out to serve fresh, simple, delicious food without cutting any corners. There is a grill right in the dining room where you can view food being cooked. We enjoyed a few of the pasta dishes, one with a radicchio pesto, as well as some of the best sausages I ever tasted, grilled to perfection. I got adventurous with the rabbit cooked in Umbrian style on another night, and was not disappointed. This place is not to be missed for fairly priced, great local Cooking with nice people.

Helpful?
2 Thank GrecoMa_Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A hidden gem and great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We dined for lunch as a party of 6. The staff were very welcoming and created a wonderful antipasti platter for us to share. The prosciutto (from Norcia) and coppa in particular were truly delicious. We had a variety of salads as well and the local wine was excellently priced and half bottles were available - ideal for lunch.

I would highly recommend this as a great and welcoming place to have a leisurely lunch away from the madd(en)ing crowds while visiting Assisi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter3801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria da Erminio also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Trattoria da Erminio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing