We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria degli Umbri

Trattoria degli Umbri
Ranked #13 of 232 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We were here our second night in Assisi. We had a really nice dinner. The staff were helpful in answering our questions and didn't mind when we asked for ( all tomatoe bruschetta) changes or ( olive oil for bread) additions. Would highly recommend for dinner. It gets very crowded so not for quiet togetherness place. I had the spinach ravioli and enjoyed it. Be prepared to add your own seasoning. Value for what you get is good. Great location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynnelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    485
    77
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I went to have dinner, had a glass of wine, bruschetta and pasta for 21€. The service was nice enough and took about one hour (the place was full).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Punk_rockgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow, what a wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

First of all, this is a wonderful family run restaurant. Mr. Andrea and Mrs. Roberta work very hard to make this restaurant run smoothly, and they are such nice people. We had a wonderful asparagus pasta with the most delicate asparagus. So good. We then had veal and lamb secondi. Both superb. With a nice ensalada mista and good liter of house wine.....a bill of only euro 56,,,,, what more could you want from a restaurant, especially a restaurant in the center of beautiful Assisi. Grazie Andrea and Roberta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Huge Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have to say, I normally love restaurants like this. But this was such a bad experience I had to write something as I found this trattoria on TA. Very bad service and very slow. We ordered the brushette to start and then waited about 40 min for our pasta. I VERY politely asked the owner (in Italian) if our food was almost ready, that we had been waiting a long time, and that almost every other table with locals who had come in after us were already eating or done. He got very defensive and told me "this isn't fast food", implying that I didn't know what a nice restaurant experience was. This most certainly was not it. No eye contact from the waitress, no explanation for the slow (too slow) food, the owner arguing with me even after I told him that I understood, and if our food wasn't prepared yet I would be happy to pay for our starter and wine and we could go, "senza problema", meaning, I wasn't being rude but I would have been happy to leave at that point as our food wasn't even being prepared. Mumbling under his breath to other patrons that it was a fast food restaurant, he went back and spoke to the chef and Presto! Our pasta was ready....all of a sudden. I had the tartufo, REALLY bland, didn't even eat half of it. My mother had the ravioli and she liked it, but really we were very hungry at that point. I'm sure there are better options that don't serve the locals first and leave the "turisti" to argue with the owner about their order. Very unimpressed!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our third visit to this restaurant since under new management and again it was the most wonderful experience! Friendly welcome. Very helpful. English spoken. Extremely varied and interesting menu with something to suit everyone whether your taste is traditional or experimental. Wonderful local dishes both savoury and sweet. The house wine was excellent. I had the pasta with lemon and juniper sauce this time to try something really different and it was WONDERFUL ! My husband had pasta with Chinghiale ragu which was also excellent. For desert we had Panacotta ... the best ever but there was also a local strudel dessert which sounded equally delicious! We even were asked if our coffee was hot enough ! No one in thirty years as ever enquired about this! Excellent service. Excellent food and wine. Excellent location opposite the fountain in the main square and excellent deor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fedupofchoosingnames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria degli Umbri also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Trattoria degli Umbri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing