We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fresh Italian food”

Trattoria degli Umbri
Ranked #13 of 237 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good fresh Italian food”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

After touring in Italy for 2 weeks we landed in Assisi for 5 days. We had been enjoying wonderful food in many cities and towns for 2 weeks and were looking for just a light dinner. On recommendation we stopped in at the Trattoria degli Umbri. This small intimate trattoria had a warm feeling when we entered. We tried their minestrone soup and after the first spoon were hooked. What wonderful tastes exploding in our mouths. So of course the light dinner turned into more and more. Then back 2 days later for more this time a full dinner with more and more. The owner/waiter and waitress were very friendly and helpful with the menu and definatly added to our evenings. Everything we had there tasted of freshness and comfort. We definitely recommend this Trattoria to anyone in Assisi.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cicknryndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    508
    83
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, NSW
1 review
“Good food, friendly service, very welcoming”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

After several weeks in Assisi I'm sad to leave - I've eaten here several times and never been disappointed. Good regional simple food, friendly staff, very keen to help explain the dishes in English. Easily accessible off the Piazza Comunale. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_fr0m_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We once again had a wonderful lunch at Trattoria degli Umbria. The rabbit cacciatore special was terrific. The local vino della casa was also wonderful. Rebecca and I have dined her several times and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frontignano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good food, good value, good service”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of a local tour guide and we weren't disappointed. The host speaks several languages quite well and was happy to help us in English or our poor Italian. We had the 'menu of the day' and the meal was basic good Italian home cooking as you would expect in a Trattoria. Delicious and great value. If you want to get off the expensive, fancy food trail this is the place to go.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winteringinPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't go near this place unless you're a local”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Our party of three went here on the recommendation of our hotel keeper. I can honestly say that it is the only time I have been insulted in a restaurant in all of my trips to Italy. The head person there (possibly the owner?) went out of his way to insult us and was outrightly rude to us. He was only interested in attending to a large party of locals and ignoring that we were even there. It took forever to get the check and he continued to be short with us, as if we were taking time away from his friends. I have never been treated so poorly in beautiful Italy, especially in a restaurant. Stay away from this place!! There are many other choicves in Assisi!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peggyabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria degli Umbri also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Trattoria degli Umbri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing