We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap!”
Review of Bibenda

Bibenda
Ranked #1 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Book your WINE, CHOCOLATE, OLIVE OIL TASTING now, Taste your esperience! The rustic-chic WINE BAR BIBENDA ASSISI is relaxing and warm atmosphere to enjoy your stay in Assisi. Here you could taste ASSISI and UMBRIA WINE produced by top wineries pared with tasting plates of the very best artisanal food : OLIVE OIL, COLD MEAT and CHEESES like wild boar, deer salami or black pork, well-aged cheeses, such as Canestrato from ASSISI (that cheese recently won the title of "BEST PECORINO CHEESE" at a major European competition). Doesn't that all sound yummy? We offer a CERTIFICATE INTENSIVE SOMMELIER COURSE and WINE TASTING ASSISI and UMBRIA WINE to individuals or groups in ENGLISH or RUSSIAN.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tourist trap!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place has overpriced and mediocre wine, and they keep trying to sell you things during your time there! A couple things went wrong during our visit, and so when the waitress came out at the end of our meal offering us each to choose a local chocolate to complete our meal we were pleased with the nice gesture, but then she tried to charge us 1.50 each for them! The only redeeming factor was that when we complained, she took them off the bill.

You would be better walking around Assisi with no recommendation to go off of and just reading menus and choosing a place on your own than you would be seeking out this tourist trap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,381
    168
    54
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visiting My Daughter in Assisi”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

While on my first visit to Assisi to visit my daughter, I managed to stumble on a hidden treausre...

Nila and her wonderful wines. What a wonderful welcome with excellent wine.

It was lovely to meet such a wonderful and sencere person

Jan Senatore- Thorp

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
“Third time charm”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This June we will be in Assisi again so we must go back to Bibenda Assisi! The last two years we have been to Bibenda on our visits to Assisi and we will definitely return to see Nila. She is wonderful and the wine and food are fantastic!! So the third time will be the charm. Love you Nila!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddrobinson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing wine and service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had come from New Zealand and this place had the best hospitality I have seen on my trip. Nila was amazing and speaks very good English she made me feel very welcome with good conversation. She also recomended a great wine called Monastero San Biagio which is a great organic wine locally produced. I have tried many wines around the world and this red is just delightful. Highly recommend to stop here on your visit to Assisi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Wine and friendly Owner”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I visited Bibenda Assisi with a group of about 25 people in the fall of 2011; our guide had arranged a private wine tasting for us. Nila was friendly and patient with us, and answered all the questions from those in our group who were wine novices. Those of us who love wine purchased several bottles from Nila and she even delivered them to our hotel. I am returning to Italy in late May, with some of the same group of people, and we are all looking forward to visiting Bibenda once again and experiencing Nila's hospitality and great wine!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psgarmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bibenda also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Bibenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing