We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wine and host”
Review of Bibenda

Bibenda
Ranked #1 of 239 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Book your WINE, CHOCOLATE, OLIVE OIL TASTING now, Taste your esperience! The rustic-chic WINE BAR BIBENDA ASSISI is relaxing and warm atmosphere to enjoy your stay in Assisi. Here you could taste ASSISI and UMBRIA WINE produced by top wineries pared with tasting plates of the very best artisanal food : OLIVE OIL, COLD MEAT and CHEESES like wild boar, deer salami or black pork, well-aged cheeses, such as Canestrato from ASSISI (that cheese recently won the title of "BEST PECORINO CHEESE" at a major European competition). Doesn't that all sound yummy? We offer a CERTIFICATE INTENSIVE SOMMELIER COURSE and WINE TASTING ASSISI and UMBRIA WINE to individuals or groups in ENGLISH or RUSSIAN.
Campinas, SP
1 review
“Best wine and host”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

You can find there one of the best wine in Italy. And the Host is so charming. The place is so cosy and warm. The host (Nila) can help you with your chose about wine you want. And explain you how to taste them. It's wonderful...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,393
    169
    54
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pienza, Italy
2 reviews
“little but loving wine bar/restaurant in the heart of Assisi”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Bibenda is one of the most excellent place to enjoy food and wine in Assisi.
I brought to bibenda my best friend who is a wine lover but he doesn' know so much about italian wines and I really made a good impression because Nila hit the nail on the head, proposing some very good italian wines, especially from small and quite new wineries. Service was perfect with all the Nila's knowledge about italian wine and food. thank you

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Come to Bibenda!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Sipping on wine at Bibenda in the beautiful Assisi. Wine tasting is excellent and the owner, Nila, is more so. A great afternoon!

Helpful?
Thank stephaniealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Find fine wine here”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

it was almost our last night in Assisi nd my friend and i decided to treat ourselves to a good glass of wine at Bibenda. Situated close to my favourite restaurant this is an atmospheric wine bar tucked away on via San Gabrielle dell'Addolorata. Having drunk all white Umbrian wines for 10 days we decided it was time to broach a red and a Brunello 2007 seemed to fit the bill. Our knowledgeable host talked us thorugh several wines but the brunello seemed to be the one to go for. We also had some local artisan bread, cheese with honey and locally produced olive oil. We thought we were in heaven! Obviously we would have brought some home woth us but i wasn't riskin 49 euro a bottle wine on a cheap and cheerful flight! if you want to drink good wine pleasant surroundings treat yourself here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lotsofspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caserta, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,894 reviews
1,309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“Expensive,Not much for the money, friendly”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stumbled across Bibenda when walking thru the town. My friend who is a wine distributor was interested in stopping in and relaxing. We got served meats right away with cheeses.. the price was extremely high for what you were getting and it was not communicated. The wine list was very good but also priced quite high. We are local to Umbria and the restaurant might cater to tourist more who don't care about quantity or price but more the experience. It is a very nice bar but not worth the money.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bibenda also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Bibenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing