We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the picture!”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #45 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as the picture!”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Checked out the website - they had beautiful pictures of each room - we even picked out a room and were assured we would have it when we reserved (6 month ahead).
The pictures must have been of some other place - room was dank - smelled old and moldy.
Room was above the street (main entrance to the city), above a restaurant, and what must be a meeting place for the hard of hearing.
We remember this place for the brillo-pad towels, the meager breakfast and the beautiful view out our window out onto the valley.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    30
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We just returned from our first trip to Italy. October proved to be the perfect time of the year to go - warm days cool evenings and only a little rain. We travelled around by train and bus which were both easy to use - even carrying luggage. We used Rick Steve's Italy 2008 Guide and in doing so discovered and contacted The Hotel Belvedere. The hotel is situated on the main street leading into Assisi. Our room was quiet, clean, well furnished and comfortable, we slept well and with the hotel owner's brother doing the cooking for the hotel restaurant , we dined well. Our balcony gave us magnificent views of the valley and the opportunity to people watch as tourists strolled by below. Enrico, the hotel owner, is a kind generous man who shows a true interest in his guests and their comfort. Assisi was our favorite place to visit and with the wonderful hospitality of Enrico, it was a very comfortable stay. The hotel rates were very reasonable. We hope to return to Assisi and Hotel Belvedere one day. Julie & Dana, Mansfield, TX

  • Liked — Price, comfort, location, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steadleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Right on the main street. Parked in front of the hotel both nights. Fabulous remodel of a very old building. View from the window overlooking the valley (I'll try to include a photo somewhere)

Fabulous owners. Very helpful and handson. Lent us a book and a map even though we didn't need one...

Light breakfast every morning. No air conditioning, but it wasn't needed. No street noise after 11pm. We will stay there again.

Jon

  • Liked — Location and attention to detail. Great owners!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Our first hotel was terrible so we walked around & looked at about 10 hotels in Assisi. This was the best value for money. It has just lovely views out over the valley. All the other hotels on the inside of Assisi look out onto alleys which isn't really that nice. The rooms were nicely appointed and the people there very helpful and nice. We would stay there again and again... It was a very very reasonably priced hotel.

  • Liked — Views. Quiet at night. Location very good. Felt like real italy.
  • Disliked — No internet access. Not unusual in italy, but still a pain.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank orbital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We selected this hotel because of the recommendation in the Rick Steves guide. We found the hotel to be quite nice, a real value for the budget price.

Positives: The rooms were very clean with a retro decor. They have high ceilings and thick curtains and bedspreads, obviously old but not really musty.

The hotel is family run and they are all very sweet and helpful. We met all three generations in the course of our stay. They called ahead to our next hotel and booked it for free. When we went to mass they gave us a small wooden cross to wear so we could have it blessed by one of the Franciscans.

Our rooms had nice views of the streets and countryside. We were there in the low season so it was quiet at night and in the morning, but we could see how early morning tour groups could be noisy when the place is busy.

They did not serve breakfast but we did have dinner on a weekend and the food was good.

Negatives: No real negatives, but some could be turned off by the old feel of the place.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Tembas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

We stayed on night at the Hotel Belvedere in Assisi. We were quite disappointed in this hotel. We had a double room in the front of the hotel. It was very noisy at night. The hotel is on the main drag of Assisi so late in the evening you have people walking up from the nearby parking lot and early in the morning (as early as 0800) there were tour groups right outside our window. The room was somewhat in disrepair - the doornob was broken and there was a crack in the door so that you could see inside the room.

Helpful?
5 Thank travelinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2006

Wonderful little find! Beautiful views, extremely reasonable prices, and great location in the city. The staff were the friendliest we encountered so far in Italy. The rooms are very basic, but they are large and clean. The bathroom appeared to be recently renovated with new and modern facilities. We would defintely stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaryIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Roma Hotel
Roma Hotel
#44 of 70 in Assisi
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#25 of 70 in Assisi
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#17 of 70 in Assisi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#21 of 70 in Assisi
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#26 of 70 in Assisi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via B. Aretino 13, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing