We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is an OUTSTANDING place to stay while visiting Assisi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This is an OUTSTANDING place to stay while visiting Assisi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

On this leg of our Italian journey we are in Assisi. Our only regret is that we did not schedule more time to stay at Hotel Belvedere, see more of Assisi and the surrounding area, and talk more with Enrico, Mary, and son Julian. Every aspect of our trip through Italy was wonderful. But our stay in Assisi was over the top! We arrived, with backpack/carry-ons in tow, a little late in the evening. Maria, Enrico's sister, got us settled in and comfortable. She must have been wondering, "What kept you?" You see, we talked with her on the phone and she knew when the bus arrived and she knew how much time it should take to walk to the hotel. Before she could ask us about our tardiness, we sheepishly volunteered, "Uh, we took the scenic route to get here, Maria." We knew we were on friendly turf here and we gladly accepted the ribbing for taking 40 minutes to cover a 10 minute route. The hotel has a great location on a quiet main street. The view of the Umbrian valley below, from the street, is incredible. We wondered, "What will the view be like from our second floor hotel room?" You guessed it - BETTER! The lobby of the hotel was inviting and cozy with a big comfy couch, coffee table, and chairs. This proved to be a nice spot to read, relax, and write postcards. A fine restaurant, where the optional breakfast is served, is attached to the hotel property. The restaurant has outdoor seating, a gelateria, a full bar, as well as a full dinner menu. There is a large terrace on the top floor. Here you will find potted plants, tables and chairs and more incredible views that invite the inevitable snack time with a bottle of local wine. The entire place is spotless, comfortable, and the location is perfect for visiting Assisi. Enrico and Mary are very proud of their business and do not hesitate to offer help regarding getting to know Assisi. We valued our time with this family very much. Assisi is a "Must Stop" while in the Umbrian Region and Hotel Belvedere is a "Must Stop" at the "Must Stop!"
Tim and Susan - Arizona

Room Tip: Ask for the best view room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimBob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    28
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
N6C5H7
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

The hill town of Assisis is an awesome place. We stayed at the Hotel Belvedere a quaint old castle redone. Very good service and very European. If you want all the comforts of home don't go there. That is what I loved about the hotel yo had all the amenities, but you had the atmosphere of old Italy. You feel steeped in history, without all the bustle of a busy tourist area. I liked Rome, but give me Assisis.

Stayed May 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here without prior reservations for one night while visiting Assisi. They are very nice, friendly and accomodating. The beds are quite comfortable, the location is perfect and it is very clean and roomy! There is wireless in the lobby for a small fee which the kids were thrilled about. They gave us a fabulous recommendation for dinner and we were not disappointed. This is a family establishment which is wonderful. They speak English (the owners are a native man from Assisi and his American wife) which was an added bonus. We loved our stay here (the hotel was recommended in Rick Steves' book) and would definitely stay at the Hotel Belvedere again. Very affordable, which was an added bonus! You will love this magical little town and you will love your stay at the quaint Hotel Belvedere!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years. Enrico and Maria are very special people. When we saw Enrico after not seeing him for a few years he mentioned that he had been thinking about us as of late. We had spent many hours through the years enjoying his company and discussing life, religion, families etc. He remembered we liked the room overlooking the valley and that was were we stayed. It felt good to be back in a place that makes you feel so comfortable and welcome. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. If you do not find parking in front of the hotel there is a surface parking lot located a short distance down the hill which has an escalator back up to the main street where the hotel is located. Eating in their restaurant which is ran by Enrico's brother is fantastic. He is a master chef.
Thank you again Enrico/Maria and we will see you again soon.
George and Peggy from Los Angeles

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allenassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Assisi was a one night stop on our tour of Italy that I took with my mom and a friend. Unfortunately for us, on the way in, our rental car got a flat! It was pretty much a disaster because we spoke virtually no Italian and we didn't know what to do. We finally got ourselves to the hotel and thank goodness for the owner, Enrico. He helped us immensely by making lots and lots of calls to the rental car company, the tow company, the tire repair company and even our next hotel. There is no way we could have done this ourselves. He was so kind and generous and made what was a bad situation into one of my best memories of Italy and its people. And another bright side was we got to experience more of Assisi because we stayed longer than we planned waiting for the tire repair. It is a beautiful town and wonderful just to stroll the streets and soak it all in. The hotel itself was very nice. We had a room on the front that had a balcony and gorgeous view of the valley below. I plan to stay there again and I hope it is not too far in the future. If you want to stay in a place where you feel warm and welcome, this would be the one. It's also a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keela777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here for just one night, between our stays in Siena and then Rome. Enrico was kind and generous to us. He had a heartwarming family story he shared with us. One of our rooms was in the back, quiet. The other one on the street and we could hear pilgrims arriving very early in the am. But who can complain about the thousands of pilgrims that go up to the churches?! We found Enrico to be one of the most interesting people we met in Italy. FYI: I used to live there and have many friends still there. The only negative: dinner had way too much salt in the dishes. We were treated warmly and with great kindness. If you go to Assisi on pilgrimage stay here. If yo go to Assisi to learn about the spiritual aspect of the site, stay here. If you need pools, new rooms and a sterile place, don't stay here.....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Checked out the website - they had beautiful pictures of each room - we even picked out a room and were assured we would have it when we reserved (6 month ahead).
The pictures must have been of some other place - room was dank - smelled old and moldy.
Room was above the street (main entrance to the city), above a restaurant, and what must be a meeting place for the hard of hearing.
We remember this place for the brillo-pad towels, the meager breakfast and the beautiful view out our window out onto the valley.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#23 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#20 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#25 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza
Hotel La Terrazza
#2 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via B. Aretino 13, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing