We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average Hotel All Around”
Review of Hotel San Rufino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Rufino
Ranked #106 of 142 Assisi B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed in the Duomo, the smaller and less expensive hotel associated with San Rufino. It was fine, although the room itself looked over a very loud restaurant, so the noise level was rather high.

The bathroom was extremely large, but as always in Italy, the toilet still had trouble flushing-- even after wasting gallons and gallons of water. The shower was good, with good pressure.

The hotel is close to San Rufino Plaza, where there are some restaurants and cafes. It is about 10-15 minutes from the Basilica of Saint Francis.

If you don't want to walk to the Hotel from the Assisi Train Station (which I don't recommend-- its much too far and steep), just take the bus and get off at the last stop at San Rufino. The hotel is only a few blocks from there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empem8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 152 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2008

We are a mother and 2 daughters from Australia who visited in December.
The hotel was clean, quiet, welcoming, and had everything we needed. It was a five minute walk from the bus stop in the old town, on a quiet street.
The family (?) who ran the hotel were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was fantastic- well worth the 5euro: no hot food, but yoghurt, fruit, rolls, toast, cake, cheese, juice, a list of hot drinks, cereals...
We had a triple room, which was spacious, warm and clean, with a large bathroom and a window opening a couple of stories over the street.
We could even leave our bags at the hotel after we'd checked out while we explored Assisi.
No frills, but excellent value and we would certainly recommend San Rufino to anyone heading to Assisi.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the San Rufino earlier this month, at the conclusion of the Festival of St. Francis. We booked here based on positive reviews on TripAdvisor. This is a small, very basic hotel in a stone building in the old town. It is very central and has a companion hotel (Il Duomo) next door. Our room was very clean but without frills, so seemed very much in keeping with the spirit of St. Francis. The only major drawback we encountered was a very eccentric bathroom shower. Essentially, it was a floor drain and telephone shower at the entrance to the rest of the bathroom. Two shower curtains formed a kind of improvised shower stall. This arrangement had two disadvantages, flooding into the bedroom area (which fortunately had a tiled floor) and the need for subsequent users to walk over the wet floor area to use the other bathroom facilities.

Flooding was minimized by adopting a military (navy) shower protocol (get wet, turn off shower, lather up, turn shower back on to rinse). We did not find a way to effectively traverse the post-shower wet floor except to remember to remove one's socks and shoes before entering the bathroom.

On the plus side, the hotel was very reasonably priced, by far the least expensive of any we stayed at while in Italy. It's location was a very convenient walking distance to all attractions, including the Basilica of St. Francis. Breakfast is available at a cost of 5 euros and is worth the price. The homemade lemon cake is delicious. The nearby Duomo ristorante was is very good with delicious home made pizzas baked in a wood-fired brick oven.

Despite the shower challenges, I would not hesitate to stay at the San Rufino again and would recommend it to others with the caveat that it is not the same as staying in a North American hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KokobeanCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

It was already getting dark, raining and we were biking up the first of the hill towns of Umbria. Plus we had booked into the sister to San Rufino. up a set of stairs. No problem, we can put you here, said the night staff. This is is a wonderful, boutique hotel, next to the cathedral, above the main square of assisi. We spent three days in this romantic, quiet hotel The staff, there is only one staff on duty at a time it seems, handled all our questions. The room was spacious, facing the street ( a one lane step to the 12th century). Breakfast was extra but only 5 euros and worth it. We stayed three days, They stored our bikes in the hall way.

This hotel is in the spirit of St. Francis, simple, clean, no false airs. helpful staff, comfortable rooms.

Plus very reasonable prices. But we were early in the season.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hobie.mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We were told about this hotel purely by chance while waiting at the bus stop to go up the hill to the village. A fellow tourist had just stayed here and recommended it to us. The price was fantastic and the room was huge. The bathroom was the biggest we had seen in the whole of Italy and in fact could have easily been a single room if converted. We had a fabulous time with so much space to spread out. The staff are nice and friendly and the breakfast was also good. The location is absoultely fantastic and is very quiet, with the tolling of bells to gently awaking you each morning. The main bus stop for the bus up and down to the outer town is only a 3 minute walk through the cobblestone alleys and all of the tourist sites are within easy reach, in fact we basically just stumbled over most of them just while walking around. Assisi is a wonderful peaceful place and this hotel is a nice place to rest your head at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hangar2jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We spend a nice 3 days at San Rufino Hotel. The room is very clean and looks like new. The bath room overall is spacious and clean. In the morning, we enjoy the simple breakfast they served. Located in the heart of Assisi. It is close to anywhere and to the bus station up the hill. The city is wonderful and we must say "Please visit Assisi and stay at San Rufino" Value for the money. Maritha - Jakarta Indonesia

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Itha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Assisi was amazing and San Rufino is a wonderful place to stay. The room is small, the bathroom smaller but it's clean, the price is terrific and the breakfast (did cost extra) was very good.

Right by San Rufino is a restaurant called Il Duomo. We had amazing truffle pizza! Yum. The sites of Assisi were incredible and it was so pretty and quiet. We walked all over, then walked up behind the town to the castle for more amazing views.

Loved it all. Good service at the hotel too!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 70 in Assisi
368 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#20 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 70 in Assisi
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roma Hotel
Roma Hotel
#39 of 70 in Assisi
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#20 of 70 in Assisi
244 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#15 of 70 in Assisi
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rufino

Address: Via Porta Perlici 7, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: $43 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Rufino 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Rufino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing