We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, would reccommend it to a friend”
Review of Hotel San Rufino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Rufino
Ranked #89 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The location is very nice. If you enjoy walking you can go to all the major sites from the hotel. It is clean, rooms are spacious. The bathrooms are also clean and not too small. My only complaint would be that instead of "normal" towels they give you those serviettes that are more like washcloths than towels. We stayed in the summer, the room we were at had a high ceiling so I can imagine it might get cold in the winter. Service was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Psicogeriatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place was great value among our stays in Italy. Friendly and adequate, and in a nice setting. Also easy to walk to and from Piazza Matteoti where you take the bus to the train station. Me and my mother stayed at the Albergo Il Duomo, a branch of the hotel which is just around the corner from the main reception at San Rufino. The rooms are cheaper there but quite good anyways. We did not opt for the breakfast which was 10 euro more but grabbed a snack at a local café in the early morning of our departure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobPraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

...in the beautiful, stunning, fantastic Assisi.
This place is excellent value for money with large, clean bedrooms. We stayed an extra night because of the charms of Assisi.
No noise from bars when we were there at all. Some staff were more pleasant than others but that didn't detract from our stay.
The breakfast was adequate but not inspiring and no internet for guests but there are a couple of internet places in the village.
Would stay there again and have recommended it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We arrived by train and then the connecting bus which took us up the steep hill of Assisi so we chose Hotel San Rufino because it is located not far from the bus terminal. It is close to the Duomo and a pleasant but steep walk to all other sites. We loved this little hotel because it was unpretentious and had a very Italian feeling. For example the rooms were simple but had a certain charm and the bath towels were linens rather than the usual terricloth. (It reminded us of church linens.) Our shutters opened onto a lovely village view with fabulous light that made one feel calm. It was great value for money and you felt like you were staying in a village house rather than a hotel. Breakfast was included and was all we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

On a dark very cold night Hotel San Rufino was most welcoming and proved to be a very cosy place to put down one's head.. As good as one could want. If is good in the depths of winter is must be excellent throughout the rest of the year.

Room Tip: This hotel has all for the most discerning traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay within the great city of Assisi then consider the San Rufino. Only steps from the main car park and bus stop on the top side of the hilly town. Steps from the piazza commune and Santa Clara, not to mention the birthplace of St. Francis, with his church being only a short pleasant walk. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was large with a twin and a single and the beds were extremely comfortable! The onsuite shower and bathroom was very convenient and the heating was perfect for winter. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaccoTenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Fantastic location in Assisi, close to bus stop that goes directly to train station
The hotel is in a charming location, good breakfast served.
No internet though. U can find internet in a bar close.
The room is confortable, but a little cold in cold days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 71 in Assisi
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#20 of 71 in Assisi
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#21 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
489 reviews
2 mi away
La Casuccia di Assisi
La Casuccia di Assisi
#12 of 21 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rufino

Address: Via Porta Perlici 7, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: $43 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Rufino 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel San Rufino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing