We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel San Rufino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Rufino
Ranked #102 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Fantastic location in Assisi, close to bus stop that goes directly to train station
The hotel is in a charming location, good breakfast served.
No internet though. U can find internet in a bar close.
The room is confortable, but a little cold in cold days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 151 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

We arrived to the San Rufino at the end of our walking trip on The Olive Tree Path in Umbria and we stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are exactly as described on the website, they are not luxurious but are large, very clean, with beautiful view from rooms at the back and street view from rooms at the front. The staff were very helpful, they have all the info you need, bus times, train times, opening times etc etc. They're not all gifted with smiles, but most are. Assisi is a lovely city and the hotel is in a beautiful part of the city which is just removed from the main tourist areas so is quiet which is nice when you leave each morning and come back in the evening or late at night. There is a lift and a wheelchair accessible room, my friends stayed in it and it's huge, so much space for moving about. The breakfast is fine, muesli, cornflakes, milk, bread, crackers, cake, biscuits, cheese, 3 juices, rice cakes and yogurt. Fresh tea and coffee.
Nice place to stay, wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kwikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

It was a dark rainy night as we cycled up the steep pilgrim trail into Assisi. At the top of the old town we finally reached Hotel San Rufino, but found that our rooms were in the sister hotel, up some further steps. We stay here, my wife announced. And to our delight the hostess quickly found us a lovely, spacious room overlooking the street and within earshot of the bells of San Rufino. We ended up staying three nights and enjoyed every minute. The staff stored our bikes inside the hotel and steered us to lovely dinners within a few steps of the hotel. Breakfasts were sub-par, but there are lots of choices to eat out near by. Traveling with bicycles always tests the hospitality of the staff. Hotel San Rufino came through with flying colors. Assisi seems to be a tourist spot during the day but few people stay overnight: their loss.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hobie.mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A small hotel in the center of the old city. Inside, completely modernized and comfortable. Furnishings are frugal; breakfast is unappealing; access would be difficult for persons with mobility issues. That said it is a minute from the ancient church of San Rufino, convenient walk to buses, main square, restaurants, and 10-15 min walk to the Cathedral of St. F. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxforddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed one night in Albergo IL Duomo that belongs to Hotel San Rufino. The room is clean and spacious. The location is convenient. If you arrive by bus, get off at the very last stop and it's easy to reach the hotel in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel San Rufino is located in the upper part of Assisi. After a short bus ride from the train station, the hotel is a short walk uphill. A small but welcoming lobby, friendly staff, and clean and private room are all any traveler needs. The bathroom was typical for an Italian inn with the shower as a curtained off corner of the space. No air conditioning but the windows open. Be aware of the many stray cats that roam and yowl at night! We were woken from a sound sleep by two cats engaging in...fights? Other than that, a fine place to stay while in Assisi.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I should begin by saying that my experience at the San Rufino wasn't horrible, it's just that I found two rather essential problems which I feel I ought to alert people to.
The first is location. Although this may sound counter-intuitive, staying "right next" to the main square or cathedral in an Italian hilltop town is not necessarily a good thing. In the case of Assisi, this means having to drag your bags from the bus stop at the main gates (opposite San Francis Basilica), which is where the bus from the Railway station will drop you... or, if you are patient enough, wait for a second bus to take you up to centre. Of course this wouldn't be a problem if you can afford a taxi every time, but my guess is that, if you are considering the San Rufino, you cannot afford a taxi ride every time!
The second flaw is that the hotel is right next to a noisy bar. The night I stayed at the Hotel (a Saturday) there was live music until midnight, which didn't wholly ruin my stay, but it wasn't exactly the peacefulness and quiet I was expecting in Assisi.

Room Tip: Stay close to St Francis' Basilica!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Roma Hotel
Roma Hotel
#40 of 70 in Assisi
340 reviews
1.9 mi away
Da Elide
Da Elide
#13 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#28 of 70 in Assisi
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 70 in Assisi
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#15 of 70 in Assisi
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Rufino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Rufino

Address: Via Porta Perlici 7, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: $43 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Rufino 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel San Rufino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing