We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
37
60
48
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
60
48
9
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 160 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

A small hotel in the center of the old city. Inside, completely modernized and comfortable. Furnishings are frugal; breakfast is unappealing; access would be difficult for persons with mobility issues. That said it is a minute from the ancient church of San Rufino, convenient walk to buses, main square, restaurants, and 10-15 min walk to the Cathedral of St. F. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxforddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed one night in Albergo IL Duomo that belongs to Hotel San Rufino. The room is clean and spacious. The location is convenient. If you arrive by bus, get off at the very last stop and it's easy to reach the hotel in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel San Rufino is located in the upper part of Assisi. After a short bus ride from the train station, the hotel is a short walk uphill. A small but welcoming lobby, friendly staff, and clean and private room are all any traveler needs. The bathroom was typical for an Italian inn with the shower as a curtained off corner of the space. No air conditioning but the windows open. Be aware of the many stray cats that roam and yowl at night! We were woken from a sound sleep by two cats engaging in...fights? Other than that, a fine place to stay while in Assisi.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I should begin by saying that my experience at the San Rufino wasn't horrible, it's just that I found two rather essential problems which I feel I ought to alert people to.
The first is location. Although this may sound counter-intuitive, staying "right next" to the main square or cathedral in an Italian hilltop town is not necessarily a good thing. In the case of Assisi, this means having to drag your bags from the bus stop at the main gates (opposite San Francis Basilica), which is where the bus from the Railway station will drop you... or, if you are patient enough, wait for a second bus to take you up to centre. Of course this wouldn't be a problem if you can afford a taxi every time, but my guess is that, if you are considering the San Rufino, you cannot afford a taxi ride every time!
The second flaw is that the hotel is right next to a noisy bar. The night I stayed at the Hotel (a Saturday) there was live music until midnight, which didn't wholly ruin my stay, but it wasn't exactly the peacefulness and quiet I was expecting in Assisi.

Room Tip: Stay close to St Francis' Basilica!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the annex hotel, Albergo il Duomo and were delighted with with the room. The location was fabulous and easy to find from the bus stop. The next morning we were greeted with freshly made coffee and a lovely continental breakfast. The staff was helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keegan_HCWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews