We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best attractions in Assisi is not in Assisi!”

Santa Maria degli Angeli
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.46*
and up
Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #4 of 79 things to do in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Basilica was started in 1569 to the designs of Galeazzo Alessi, and features a statue of the Madonna in bronze gilt by G. Colasanti and an interior whose architectural style is Doric.
plattsburgh, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions in Assisi is not in Assisi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

It is in the town of Santa Maria degli Angeli about 3 km down the hill from Assisi. All the tour books say this church is in Assisi and technically maybe it is, but the people who live there say it isnt. It is an incredible place no matter where it is.The basilica was built around a revered place of St. Francis and is now a church within a church. The day I was there they were having a funeral for a local priest and the volunteers were very zealous about not allowing pictures, or getting to close to something and they ended up closing the little church to visitors. There isnt anything else in the town to see, but the trip down the mountain from Assisi was worth the bus ride to see this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carmelarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,468
    369
    71
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved visiting here and if you're so inclined you can attend a Catholic Mass. There's a nice gift shop, a museum, and lots more. The actual church is very large and inside there is a chapel. I would recommend this when in Assisi.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kloverfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to pray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I loved this church. It was peaceful and amazing art and I loved the chapel of St Francis. I visited twice on my stay in Assisi. We had Mass in the crypt. The gift shop was terrific, pay toilets don't forget coins, there is a museum that costs a few euro but I skipped that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank julesknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This church houses the small chapel in which St. Francis prayed in the forest. It has recently been restored.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank waytogoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A treasure inside a treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The treasure inside the Basilica of Santa Maria Degli Angeli is the Porziuncula, a medieval chapel that is said to be where St. Francis died. It is simply lovely and simple. the basilica itself is quite big but not so interesting artistically (my opinion of course) however, there is much to see there for those who love the story of St. Francis - the white does that nest in a stature, the thornless rose bushes, and some very nice frescoes that tell the story of St. Francis's life and travails on his road to sainthood.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSantarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria degli Angeli also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Santa Maria degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing