We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:15 AM - 12:45 PM, 2:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli - Porziuncola
from $159.20
More Info
from $90.14
More Info
from $290.70
More Info
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
273
78
6
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
78
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden santa maria degli angeli beautiful church small chapel st francis francis died original church worth a stop franciscan order his life train station sacred place basilica town transito confession angels
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Before visiting Basil of St.Francesco di Assisi be sure to visit the Basil di Santa Maria degli Angeli. Interest outside, beautiful inside. Impressive organs, frescoes on the ceiling, but special feelings causes small chapel of St.Francesco which is the church in the church.

Thank PearlsMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A must-see destination for Christians. Inside this basilica is the orginal 1,200-year old church where St. Francis based his ministry. Do not miss seeing this charming chapel, La Porziuncola. And there is a beatiful gift shop with mementos that will be meaningful to family and friends. Most guides will take you only to the Basilica of St. Francis, but make sure this basilica is on your list!

Thank 505franciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The basilica is build around the Chapple where St. Francis of Assisi died. It is a must when you visit Assisi. The bus to Assisi stops right in front. Nearby is the San Francisco restaurant which I would like to recommend for a nice evening meal.

Thank 123456rmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful historical site. We visited with a hired guide. Place is busy. No photography and silence is required

Thank GinnyKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to Assisi not knowing it was during a the Festival of Saint Francis. We were staying at a neaby hotel and went over to see the basilica. A ceremony was in progress and we were able to observe a great pagent, as well as visit the church when it was over. We have been here at other times and strongly recoomend visiting this beautiful and impressive basilica and the small church (inside the basilica) given to St. Francis for his order.

Thank UpstateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Let’s face it , when you come to Assisi there are many churches you may want to visit . There were services going on so I remained outside and in the garden area . I enjoyed the beauty of the gardens because after a while most churches start to look alike . Nice artwork in the halls and the miniature village display impressed me . I can only say so much as it is a church and one of the many in this area .

Thank Ciaojimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Known as one of the largest Christian churches. Easy parking next to the basilica. There is a long walk to the entrance. Once inside, you will immediately see confessionals to the left offered in many languages. What a way to start your visit to the place where St Francis spent his last hours of his life. He died at this church. The Porziuncola is straight ahead inside the basilica. It was free admission.

Thank Famluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

I wanted to visit here to see the tiny chapel inside where St Francis worshiped and preached. We arrived while there was a mass in progress. There was an empty,small pew and I spent about a half hour in the chapel as the mass was going on inside the basilica. It was so moving and somber. Although photos are not allowed in small chapel, I took it all in and will hold in my heart forever this magic moment. I pray you experience the same.

Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

A peaceful, old church where services are held daily and offer a place for more quiet refelction. The cross where it is said that God appeared to St Francis is in one of the knaves.

Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Was very impressed with this church for being so different and moving The altar area was outstanding and painting and sculptures very good Being a Sunday it was pretty full Worthwhile to visit

Thank BARRYBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews