We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we miss it”

Santa Maria degli Angeli
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.94*
and up
Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Basilica was started in 1569 to the designs of Galeazzo Alessi, and features a statue of the Madonna in bronze gilt by G. Colasanti and an interior whose architectural style is Doric.
beirut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“we miss it”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

it was our last hour in assisi we went down near the train station hoping to visit the place where st francis died but it was 12h55 . usualy they close at 12h 45 so we will hope to come again and visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TONIREINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,496
    375
    72
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Massive basilica enclosing tiny historic church”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The ancient little church within the basilica is called Porziuncola or Little Portion, a name well known in Francisican circles. As the place where Saint Francis died, it a most sacred place, regardless of your religious affiliation.

I could have spent much longer here, but had to keep up with other pilgims heading up the hill to the town of Assisi itself.

I will have to re-visit

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Put it on your Sunday Itinerary”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Most other reviews rave about this basilica, and I agree it is well worth a visit.
I just hapened to be there around midday on a Sunday when the service took place and if you are able to visit at this time, it would be additionally impressive to witness and/or participate in the procedures.
As is often the case in the more interesting places one visits, photography is limited or prohibited.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An enshrined church.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

On our way out of town we made a brief stop at the majestic Basilica Santa Maria degli Angeli. Within this majestic basilica, which is an amazing building in and of itself, you find a small, beautiful 9th century church that St. Francis nurtured. The small church within the larger basilica is called Porziuncola, and I expect that you will find it a sacred space regardless of your religious affiliation.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyb2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A church within another”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Santa Maria church is really one of it's kind - a church within a church. The little chapel is so peaceful, nested and protected by it's more elaborated outer church. It is really worth a visit, regardless of your religion.

Helpful?
2 Thank limkopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria degli Angeli also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Santa Maria degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing