We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”
Review of Hotel Umbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Umbra
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Have stayed here on three separate occasions, single room. One stay was a last minute reservation when trip plans changed & they were most accommodating. Rooms are clean, staff is eager to please, location - just off the main square and steps from the official tourist office. They have a small restaurant featuring local cuisine plus bar. Good quality for the money, quaint and family own and run.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet room and have not been disappointed. However, when making reservations mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
111
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very large room with beautiful 200 degree view from the balcony and two oversized windows. Large wingback chairs for enjoying wine and view in air conditioning! When you imagine a classic chic European hotel built into a city wall, this is it. (And yes, classic charm comes with classic fixtures). Very accomodating, helpful staff. With our reservation confirmation, they emailed us maps and directions for parking and access which were spot on. Finding the hotel itself was a bit more difficult since it sits privately down an alley. We were surprised that locals didn't recognize the hotel name. Be prepared for walking what seems to be only uphill! Huge soaking tub and free wi-fi that actually works! Breakfast had nice selection of pastries and fresh apricots that were obviously local. Assisi was our first stop of a 30 day trip. We selected it as a "throw down" just in case we were delayed by the airline (of course we were but only 4 hours). We should have scheduled a second day because there is much to see and do in addition to the St Francis Basilica. Hotel Umbra is just off the central square, Piazza del Commune, which is quite lively and enjoyable in the late evening with a beautiful old fountain. But best of all is the balcony with unforgettable sunrise and sunset views!!!

Room Tip: Get your bearings and directions from the square before heading out on a walking tour -- every thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAPJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this quaint Assisi hotel for four nites in October 2013. It was the second time in the last few years that we have stayed here. In fact, we had the very same room on the first floor overlooking a nice walled in courtyard. And most interesting, the same three legged marmalade cat as we saw two years ago was still in residence (nine lives for you with only 3 legs) along with a couple of stripped turtles. The staff were wonderful and completely unchanged from our prior visit. We also used Assisi as a central stopover and visited Gubbio and Perugia from here. Have fun on the italian mountain roads; a blast. The only negative was that the first floor terrace with the wonderful views of the valley below was closed for repairs. Oh well.

Room Tip: Choose the valley views or the interior courtyard; both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked Hotel Umbra based on a NY times article expounding on it's quaintness and great service. We were not disappointed. Marco at the front desk was at our service from the moment he greeted us, helping with our luggage and even fetching us from the town square when we could not find the hotel with the car ( requires a bit of navigating). Upon seeing the two rooms available, we let the couple traveling with us have the nicer room, with view of st Clare church as it was their dream to visit Assisi and we were just going along with the program. Our room was in the back and much smaller. Marco happened to casually mention the sun sets in our room. An understatement! Check out the photos! Breakfast was good and huge. Beautiful gardens and terrace. one of the most comfotable beds of our whole trip! Wine on the terrace near our friends room till I went to grab a camera and saw the sun beaming from our window lighting our entire room. The party then moved to our humble room! Also after trudging up and down the gorgeous hills of Assisi, we came back to our giant tub, a rarity in Italy, so big and deep that if you did not put your head on the ledge you'd drown! (Please excuse any upside down pictures. I tried to correct in my preview of this review but was unable. )We were surprised to find this town so amazing and beautiful, not being Catholic and not initially having much interest, but we certainly can relate to Francis's message: loving and respecting Gods creatures and above all universal peace..pace e bene.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sunset and big tub if you are into that or the room in the front with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divadouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Umbra Hotel, Assisi for 2 nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is centrally located just off the main piazza. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in the main hotel and my friends stayed in the annexe apartment about 20 metres from the main building. The apartment was spacious and beautiful. Wifi is free and, although they were told that there was no wifi at the apartment, my friends were able to access it in the kitchen which was close by the hotel office (bonus). I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next visit to Assisi. My only complaint is that breakfast is quite ordinary and the coffee was pretty awful. However, there are many nice cafes 2 minutes from the hotel in the piazza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Umbra hotel is right in the center of town and the family that runs it is very nice. Breakfast was good and the rooms were adequate. Parking is a real hike but hey walking is good for you..Just know the municipal parking has some strange hours for different entrances so the walk can be even longer - definately do not want to do the walk with luggage which is what I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Umbra is just off the main square in Assisi, just across from the Minerva Temple. We had a nice room on the back with a small balcony overlooking the town and the valley below. Marko and Paula were great in helping us find everything. We drove into the hotel square, made even more difficult because it was a packed Saturday afternoon. Don't do it, or at least pick a better time. It's not far down the hill or elevator from a couple of convenient parking lots.
It's a warm cozy hotel, and very comfortable and homey. Good place to base your visit to Assisi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#24 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#19 of 71 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#26 of 71 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Umbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Umbra

Property: Hotel Umbra
Address: Via Degli Archi 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Umbra 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Umbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbra Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing