We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Assisi, spiritual home to the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Umbra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Umbra
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Assisi, spiritual home to the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this quaint Assisi hotel for four nites in October 2013. It was the second time in the last few years that we have stayed here. In fact, we had the very same room on the first floor overlooking a nice walled in courtyard. And most interesting, the same three legged marmalade cat as we saw two years ago was still in residence (nine lives for you with only 3 legs) along with a couple of stripped turtles. The staff were wonderful and completely unchanged from our prior visit. We also used Assisi as a central stopover and visited Gubbio and Perugia from here. Have fun on the italian mountain roads; a blast. The only negative was that the first floor terrace with the wonderful views of the valley below was closed for repairs. Oh well.

Room Tip: Choose the valley views or the interior courtyard; both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieJ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    85
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
109
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked Hotel Umbra based on a NY times article expounding on it's quaintness and great service. We were not disappointed. Marco at the front desk was at our service from the moment he greeted us, helping with our luggage and even fetching us from the town square when we could not find the hotel with the car ( requires a bit of navigating). Upon seeing the two rooms available, we let the couple traveling with us have the nicer room, with view of st Clare church as it was their dream to visit Assisi and we were just going along with the program. Our room was in the back and much smaller. Marco happened to casually mention the sun sets in our room. An understatement! Check out the photos! Breakfast was good and huge. Beautiful gardens and terrace. one of the most comfotable beds of our whole trip! Wine on the terrace near our friends room till I went to grab a camera and saw the sun beaming from our window lighting our entire room. The party then moved to our humble room! Also after trudging up and down the gorgeous hills of Assisi, we came back to our giant tub, a rarity in Italy, so big and deep that if you did not put your head on the ledge you'd drown! (Please excuse any upside down pictures. I tried to correct in my preview of this review but was unable. )We were surprised to find this town so amazing and beautiful, not being Catholic and not initially having much interest, but we certainly can relate to Francis's message: loving and respecting Gods creatures and above all universal peace..pace e bene.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sunset and big tub if you are into that or the room in the front with view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divadouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at the Umbra Hotel, Assisi for 2 nights in October and thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is centrally located just off the main piazza. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in the main hotel and my friends stayed in the annexe apartment about 20 metres from the main building. The apartment was spacious and beautiful. Wifi is free and, although they were told that there was no wifi at the apartment, my friends were able to access it in the kitchen which was close by the hotel office (bonus). I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next visit to Assisi. My only complaint is that breakfast is quite ordinary and the coffee was pretty awful. However, there are many nice cafes 2 minutes from the hotel in the piazza.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Umbra hotel is right in the center of town and the family that runs it is very nice. Breakfast was good and the rooms were adequate. Parking is a real hike but hey walking is good for you..Just know the municipal parking has some strange hours for different entrances so the walk can be even longer - definately do not want to do the walk with luggage which is what I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Umbra is just off the main square in Assisi, just across from the Minerva Temple. We had a nice room on the back with a small balcony overlooking the town and the valley below. Marko and Paula were great in helping us find everything. We drove into the hotel square, made even more difficult because it was a packed Saturday afternoon. Don't do it, or at least pick a better time. It's not far down the hill or elevator from a couple of convenient parking lots.
It's a warm cozy hotel, and very comfortable and homey. Good place to base your visit to Assisi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed in Assisi for five days for a conference and was so pleased with this hotel. The entire staff was wonderful, helpful and pleasant. The room was very good (No. 20) with a fantastic view over the valley below. While we didn't eat at the restaurant, Rick Steve's rates it as one of Assisi's best. The menu is simple and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was included with our room. It was consistently good except for the brewed coffee. Ask for a cappuccino instead! Location, Location, Location...Hotel Umbra is right off the main square in town which is quite active. It's the perfect location for a hotel, near all the action, but quietly on a little side street. A word of caution if you are dropped off by bus. The walk from the St. Francis bus station is brutal with luggage in tow - very steep hills! Go rather to the bus stop near St. Ciarra. Linea C from the train station. It's a much easier walk to the Piazza dei Commune and there is even a Linea A bus that will stop right there if you need. If you are looking for an upscale modern hotel, this place is probably not for you. But, if you like a family-owned Italian hotel that is clean, affordable, and friendly - Hotel Umbra is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Take a trip through time when you enter this hotel. It is clean. It is quiet. It has an excellent location just steps from Piazza dei Commune, the central point in Assisi. The rooms are large, as well as the bathroom. We stayed in room 27 with no real view. For those who enjoy a view, rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the valley and modern Assisi. There is an open balcony on floor one for all guests with chairs available, so use it as you wish.

The bathroom is large and fairly modern but the shower head points into the room and can't really be altered significantly. Strange. So don't use too much water and be prepared to mop up. Of course there is no shower curtain, which seems to be the style in Italy. The bath towels are basically large tea towels. Yes. The waffle textured ones you use to dry dishes. Never seen that before and don't want to see it again. Why. This is not a cheap hotel. Why treat your guests this way. Have you forgotten about guest hospitality. The toiletries are OK. Low end soap and shampoo but does the trick.

Breakfast is a strange experience. Two large rooms, so quite comfortable. Dated decor but set nicely. Reasonable selection. Fresh rolls and pastries. Fresh fruit past it's due date. Yech. Cold coffee in a huge urn that tastes like it is from a percolator, a bad percolator. In ITALY !!! They did bring me fresh coffee when I complained but still left the cold stuff in the urn for the other guests. WHY. All the hot foods were gone when we arrived, such as eggs and sausages. Sorry. We ran out. Try tomorrow. We were not late for breakfast and there was at least another 45 minutes of service. The cold sliced meats were fine as was the cheese.

Based on breakfast, I would stay clear of their dining room dinner service.

I think if the owners had some drive and ambition, this could be an excellent hotel. They seem to have given up, for whatever reason. They seem to be busy, so maybe this is good enough for the business they want. I also suppose it is value driven. Things in Assisi are very expensive, as compared to Rome, Florence and even Lucca. I am here for a conference and must stay a few days, otherwise I would relocate to a different city and enjoy the charms of a location more interested in my business.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the hotel have views of the Umbrian countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phototripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#23 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#21 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#30 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Umbra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Umbra

Property: Hotel Umbra
Address: Via Degli Archetti 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Umbra 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Umbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbra Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing