We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Assisi!!”
Review of Piazza del Comune

Piazza del Comune
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.02*
and up
Small Group Tour of Assisi
Ranked #7 of 83 things to do in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This lively and well-preserved square is the heart of Assisi's social, cultural and political life.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Heart of Assisi!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great Atmosphere, with many choices of restaurants, cafes and souvenirs stores! If you stay at Hotel Umbra, you will be right there in the middle of this Piazza and close to everything.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mirelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    243
    60
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Place to be in assisi”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

best place to people watch, we had gelato and just relaxed the afternoon away. Buy a gelato or beverage and enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warnks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“The best place to sip a coffee and watch the world go by!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

So many memories of this beautiful square! Coming out of the Hotel Umbra and looking straight across to the ancient temple of Minerva (now the church for the Franciscan Third Order). Pottering along to a coffee shop and finding an outside table, where we could watch all the comings and goings of life in Assisi.

At night when you cross the Piazza you sometimes feel that time has slipped and you might just bump into the young Francesco di Bernardone and his pals, going out for an evening's adventure.Or on his way to confront his father and fling off his clothes as a symbol of his renunciation of worldly goods. Or the older, wiser Francesco, with his fellow friars, going to speak discreetly with his follower the Lady Clare who lived nearby.

You certainly will see his modern day followers in their dark brown habits, chatting to one another as they cross the square... maybe going to the church of San Rufino or Santa Chiara.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The Main Square in typical Italian tradition”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

From this piazza the streets branch out to all the other major sights so you cannot miss seeing it. the fountain and statuary are typical but it is the entire ambiance of this part of town that sets it apart.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carmelarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Where to get cheap agua minerale.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We ate at a restaurant at the plaza, I forget the name, but when we ordered agua minerale, we saw him go out to the plaza and get water from the fountain spout. We wound up paying about 2€ for that, and it actually tasted quite good. We felt so ripped off, we filled our thermos jug and used water bottles from that fountain.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FilipinoBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza del Comune also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Piazza del Comune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing