We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May Merit More Stars” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica di Santa Chiara

Basilica di Santa Chiara
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.86*
and up
Assisi Private Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 78 things to do in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built onto the original Chapel of St. George, this Cathedral is where St. Clare of Assisi was buried in a crypt in 1872.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“May Merit More Stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Definitely worth a stop, particularly as an antidote to that cheesy gift shop whose window you spent too much time looking into. Beyond that practical recommendation, though, is this: how you receive this place will depend somewhat on how deeply ingrained your Roman Catholicism is. We appreciated the beauty/tranquility of the church's interior: somehow its color and simplicity entirely befits the life it celebrates. In that sense it is a more appropriate memorial than is the St Francis basilica down the road -- which withholds no flourish, by contrast, on every paintable surface.

We paused in the Crypt realm below where, as upstairs, the understated architecture does not detract at all from the objects whose veneration it invites. Within those chambers the casual chitchat of thoughtless tourists often echoes, unfortunately. So for the profoundest experience do try to enter when there is nobody else down there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    446
    84
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reflects the core spirit of Assisi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

When we arrived at our monastery room in Assisi, we opened the shutters onto the little balcony to discover a view directly onto the Church of St Clare and the valley beyond. We took the twisting stone street down to the plaza in front of the church just as a group of young people began a dance class led by Franciscan priests who were preparing them for a soon-to-be-undertaken pilgrimage. The group was learning folk dances and songs to the Virgin Mary. Their happiness was palpable and enhanced by the golden light that seems to enevelop Assisi in the late afternoo. It was a wonderful welcome to the city, and a preview of many happy moments there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Off-the-veranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
428 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Stop in to See the Crypt and Relics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The interior of the church is very plain, as befits St. Clare. I found the crypt peaceful and display of Clare's and Francis' relics interesting and thoroughly explained. There is no entry fee. Plan to spend 30-45 minutes here. The view of the Umbrian countryside from the church's piazza is stunning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new rochelle
Level Contributor
397 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Best to read up on St. Clare before visiting this church. This does have hours of operation, so be aware of them when you plan your visit. Definitely plan on stopping here when you are in Assisi

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crosscreek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Basilica of St Claire, Assisi - a visit i will always remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

In July 2007, on a lovely summer day, I was privileged to visit this lovely Basilica of St Claire - a visit I will always remember.

In this Basilica, as I descend the steps into the basement, besides seeing a statue of Santa Chiara - her incorrupt body laid beneath a porcelain like casing and this in itself is a sight to behold, for those of us who know about her and the way she lived her simple life in Assisi.

As I strolled along the glass casing which displayed her relics - from her garment to a lock of her crowning glory, I was simply awestruck...

This Basilica is located within walking distance from St Anthony's Guesthouse and it is located in a direction which "faces" the Basilica of St Francis - and these 2 basilicas are separated by a long walk, filled with cobblestone pavements, which the pilgrim - the first time visitor to Assisi, would enjoy and relish...

Besides a place of pilgrimage and prayer, this lovely Basilica of St Claire is a monument which highlights the simplicity, the joy and the peace of a simple lady who lived simply so that others can live.

When you visit Assisi - if time permits, do drop by to this "lesser known Basilica" and be pleasantly surprised by what awaits you - in a simple, tranquil and yet mystifying way.

Enjoy your visit to this unique place - Assisi - and be enchanted by all you will see and experience in this land which remains very much the same, as it was 801 years ago.. when it was filled with the edifying presence of St Francis and St Claire - both residents of Assisi.

Assisi is a lovely place of deep peace, tranquillity and she enjoys the rich splendour of creation in a very special way - we can only be there, to experience it - such an experience is beyond words....

Enjoy every moment of your visit/stay in Assisi.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank SihYing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Chiara also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing