We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hill-top self-catering apartment outside Assisi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Parco del Subasio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Parco del Subasio
Ranked #14 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Utah
Level Contributor
418 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Wonderful hill-top self-catering apartment outside Assisi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had an extended stay at the Relais Parco del Subasio, and it was a marvelous place for making day trips to hill towns in Umbria. Our apartment was terrific with full kitchen (no microwave, but we appreciated the oven), laundry, and Wi-Fi. Lovely patio area with flowers for lunches and dinners. We cooked many of our own meals as we enjoyed getting food from the area markets, plus a herb garden on site. There is also an adequate grocery in Assisi but an even larger one nearby in San Maria. The swimming pool was a delight when returning from day touring.
Major compliments go to the people: Marcello, who owns the Relais, is wonderfully charming and helpful. Maria, who is on the premises during the day, is likewise, warm and welcoming. They provide lots of information and assistance. How gracious and generous!

Comment has been made about the road and finding the Relais. Yes, the road is a bit steep and rough, but it's doable. First gear and take it slowly. In terms of finding the Relais, absolutely do not rely on any GPS or Google maps as those directions take a person far afield. Do stop in Assisi (pull over at Parking Piazza at top of town near Carabinieri office and call for escorted drive to Relais).

Directions we found useful for getting to the Relais:
In Assisi, follow signs for the town Gualdo Tadino. (In fact, this direction will serve well to the Relais turn-off). Exit Assisi via Porta Perlici (the old gate at the NE). At this point, it is 5 K to the turn-off for the Relais, and it is hwy 444. (You will pass by a good restaurant on the left, Ristorante da Giovannino.) There is a large resort "Carpe diem" on the left; shortly thereafter, there is another sign for Gualdo Tadino. Quite quickly after this sign, make a RIGHT turn at the sign that marks "Brigolante." Go over two bridges. Make an immediate left turn after bridge #2. Continue up this road (in first gear) past 3 houses (2 on right, 1 on left), and the Relais (which has stone and terracotta buildings is at the top). Wonderful views! It's also cooler here than in town, which is a relief.

The Relais Parco del Subasio was an oasis for us.

Room Tip: Every room looked good as the hilltop location provided views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West mids
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in an apartment here for 4 days and wished we had time to stay longer and so we will be back.

Our apartment consisted of a living area with kitchen facilities including a fridge with small freezer compartment and an electric grill/full oven and gas hob, with plenty of cooking utensils ( not that we cooked; as we were in Italy we made most of the fantastic food!); bathroom with great shower and a bedroom. Air-conditioning which is free of extra charge is present in the bedroom and living area and if you visited in the cooler months I believe it is the same with heating. Also each apartment has it own allocated external area and there is a swimming pool.

Marcello the owner speaks very good English and is very welcoming & helpful. We ate at 2 of his recommended restaurants, where the food was good, as was the price. Alternatively Assissi is about a 7/8 minute drive away for further options.

The apartments are situated up a very steep unmade road which you get used to negotiating and which we feel is a small price to pay to stay in such a place, although I would recommend that you hire at least a medium size car as I think it would be difficult to do in an economy car. I would recommend this anyway as many of the Italian roads are in a pretty poor state of repair.

If you want a quiet relaxing holiday in Italy, with many beautiful places within an easy drive, then I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the barman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Super room, great pool, beautifully clean, welcoming and delightful host, difficult access up an unmade road very steep, but good location near Assisi but in the peace of the mountains. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morrisllandaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Maria, who speaks perfect English, came to escort us from Assisi, after we phoned her. The property is about 8 - 10 minute drive from Assisi, towards the 'wilderness'. Our unit comprised a large sitting room with sofa bed (for 2 persons), kitchen, fridge, dining table; large toilet with shower; big master bedroom. It has a washing machine, which is convenient as we were on the road for quite long and needed to clean our clothes. The place is very quiet (a bit too quiet) and clean. Umbrian country side stretches to the horizon. There is no food here, so stock up before you arrive at Assisi (don't try to buy at Assisi because finding a parking lot near a supermarket is next to impossible). Maria recommends 2 restaurants on the main road - but we did not drive out after we checked in. See reason below.
Downside: property is not on GPS. After turning off the main road, the drive is through farms with no sign posts. You'll need to remember the left and right turns. Don't try driving or finding it after sunset. Even when there is light, don't try to find it. Let Maria come and escort you.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, ask for ground floor units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsflorencegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Four of us stayed at this little resort for two nights recently. We were the first ones to stay in their new two bedroom apartment that had a full kitchen, sat. TV, AC, Wifi, and laundry. The pool was the crowning jewel of this small agriturismo villa and we used it every day to escape the heat of the day. Relais Parco del Subasio is about 5km to historic Assisi and its located on a dirt road without signage so its a must to coordinate via telephone with the owners upon arrival in Assisi to arrange to follow them to their place. We would love to come back to this place the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornell04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza
Hotel La Terrazza
#2 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
4.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Girasole Assisi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Parco del Subasio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Parco del Subasio

Property: Relais Parco del Subasio
Address: Vocabolo Costa di Trex 37, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Relais Parco del Subasio 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Relais Parco del Subasio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing