We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Following the enthusiastic comments we found on the web, we headed for Le Mandrie for our 4-nite stay in around Assisi.
We were not disappointed as the charming place, the overall comfort and the surprising cuisine made our family happy and longing to be here again one more time!

Alessandro runs this family venture with flair, passion and painstaking assistance towards his guests. The feeling is that being hosted here takes part in a coveted project! The concept to get back to a sustainable tourism - that hinges on millenarian art and country flavors - comes especially unveiled when Alessandro shares his vision about keeping the Umbrian traditions well alive and known to as many as possible. Thus the lured people come back to visit this place thanks to the appeal of good and genuine food and decor that can find between these stony walls.

The main body of the farm dominates Assisi from the above hill, donating a spectacular view especially at night, when the town lightning can spark while you dine.

We mainly spent the day by sightseeing sites such as Assisi, Spello, Bevagna, Spoleto and Montefalco. However, we could enjoy our breakfast even more since we sat down not before having swam a few strokes in the lovely pool, which is very well kept and clean.
The room we were given turned out to be a true apartment, endowed of a pair of ample rooms, one of which with also a kitchenette! We were impressed by how much wide was the shower pan and its entrance! The whole bathroom was indeed spacious, well equipped and excellently maintained.

At the end of the day we do recommend to spend a few days in this amazing place and meet Alessandro - a true "healthy carrier" of optimism and slow down lifestyle - as well as the entire B&B staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qarlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    64
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
145
225
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading so many glowing reports I had very high expectations for this place. We were there for three hot days in July. There were many things I liked about it. Our little apartment was spacious, nice and cool with good air conditioning, and had a little shared outside sitting area. It was renovated with a good bathroom, and a tiny kitchen, but I felt it could have benefited from more warmth in the furnishings and what was on the walls (not much). The dinner was very good, especially the lamb, the pizza, and their own very reasonable priced wine. On the Saturday night we were there a musician also played. Breakfast, which is included, was ordinary, but it was lovely to take it outside sitting under a tree and facing the view. The infinity pool was great in the late afternoon, when we returned tired and very hot. The only problem with the pool is that it attracts an enormous number of bees, especially around the steps leading into it. We learned it was better to slide into the pool from the sides. The road leading up to Le Mandrie is very steep and narrow, as it climbs up to the top of the mountain, and our little rental car had trouble getting up the steep hill. It is also difficult to find, even with a GPS and it would be impossible to find it if you get there at night.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces front toward the view. I recommend getting one of the little apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRuth4NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed here from the 11th to the 18th august 2013,everyone was very helpfull and friendly and we had a little apartment which was beautifull. The food was excellent especially the lamb. The scenery was breathtaking, very relaxing, quiet and peacefull. Many thanks to everyone there for a wonderfull stay. Giuseppe and Anne Monaco from England.

Room Tip: We had apartment number 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monaco112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

After a steep 2 km road you are welcomed by a couple of rabbits and the enthusiastic Allessandro - owner of the beautiful Le Mandrie di San Paolo. The surroundings and the view are both breath taking and the house and the rooms are refurbished to a state of the art standard. We enjoyed the garden with a scent of rosemary just as the swimmingpool was a nice cooling experience during our stay of three hot days in July.
We enjoyed half board and found the food - especially the dinners - extremely delicious with a top notch pizza crowning the evenings. It is no surprise that the restaurant is also attracting the locals from nearby Assisi. We highly recommend this outstanding agriturismo with its serviceminded staff and the easy going Allessandro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to this location just for its breathtaking view and we were not disappointed with the food either. Getting there is not that easy, a very steep and sometimes narrow road up the hill, a 4x4 would be ideal to reach this fantastic restaurant. The menu is a combination of the best and simple food italians love. Service was efficient and courteous, not over powering. Prices are very reasonable like most agriturismos in the region. The best main course: a roasted lamb previously marinated in sagrantino wine. Dessert: home made ice cream, again made of Sagrantino wine but the Olive oil ice cream, no so sure about that. Finally, it is a great place to come with family, friends or as a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadcyclistLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Cezaire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have travelled in italy almost every year for the last 11 years and always enjoy the agriturismo experience ,but this was the best yet and I can't imagine anything better. If you want somewhere to relax and get away from the stress of life this is the place. Alex and Andrea are extremely passionate about what they have and cannot do enough for their guests and the staff are equally as passionate. The food was amazing with a good choice of local wines some of which you could see the vinyards while drinking on the terrace!! The rooms were spacious , clean and renovated to complement the history of the building. I have Two children 18 & 15 and was worried they might get bored but they enjoyed the stay. We will definitely go back and would recommend staying at Le Mandrie.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The first thing that hits you, after you unloaded your luggage,is "THE VIEW".it takes your breath away, it lower your blood pressure strait away and it makes you want to stay for ever!!! Then you are greeted by Alex (he is the owner ). He takes you on a tour of the place, by the way he speaks an excellent English , he makes you fill at home, while he explain to you the thinking behind "LE MANDRIE "!!! He dreams of been self sufficient , to grow as Nature intended, to leave a better place for the next generation . He following on the footsteps of his parents and grandparents before him. Award winning extravirgin olive oil, oven baked bread, made with their own flour, home made chocolate , their own reared lamb, I stop here before you start cursing me.
And I haven't mention the staff yet. Friendly, always smiling ,attentive. They make your stay e pleasure . And there the breakfast ........... I tell you what: you let me know what you think after you been there. BUONE VACANZE!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuseppePiantoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
2.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
4.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo

Property: Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
Address: Via Fonte l'Abate, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Mandrie Di San Paolo offers wonderful panoramic views over Assisi and the Umbrian hills and it is located at 700m in the Natural Parc of Subasio.There is a very nice restaurant serving typical regional dishes.The outdoor infinity pool offers a wonderful panoramic views over Assisi and the valley. The historic centre of Assisi is just a 5/10 minute car ride away.Rooms have a balcony and private bathroom, some have a separate seating area and kitchenette. Spa center and relaxing garden.Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing