We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Porta Nuova(Assisi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ideale(Assisi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
445
75
9
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
75
9
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive oilhis passionpastaworking farmsagrantino winewhite truffle saucesmall kitchenettevery special placeevery eveningswimming poolset highfarm houseumbrian valleytiramisuslice of heavensitting areawonderful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 534 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I had visited Assisi three years ago and knew I wanted to visit the Umbrian hills again. My sister found this place and other than the harrowing drive up winding roads to get there, I'm so glad she did. This place is lovely with rustic charm but with many ammenities that can't be beat. Out of our "front door" we had the most amazing view of the valley and surrounding towns. The infinity pool is gorgeous and so well placed. Alessandro and his staff are amazing. We LOVED the extremely reasonably-priced four-course meals we had every night and especially loved our waiter. The accomodations are very comfortable and the showers are the biggest I've found in Italy. Wonderful to have that space after being so cramped. I loved our tour of the olive oil operation and brought a few bottles home. I could not recommend this place more, although I'm hesitant to share it for fear I won't be able to get in next time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is fantastic! Alex is a wonderful, hard working host. His beautiful Agriturismo is by far the best place we stayed (or saw) in Italy. It is the highest structure above Assisi, and the view from every room is incredible. The building's restoration looks brand new and is first class all the way. The woodwork is beautiful, the bathrooms are luxurious, the floors and ceilings are top notch. The rooms are huge even by American standards. The new pool is beautiful and the patio tables were an amazing place for a aperifit or digestivo. And the food.... fantastic! Easily the best meals we had on our two week stay, and that is comparing it to some really great meals in other parts of Italy. The portions were huge and the quality was superb. Alex hosted a concert by some local musicians in the garden and all the hotel guests were treated to join the festivities. Great music, great food, interesting and beautiful people to watch, great coctails, all in a setting too perfect to describe. What a value this place was. The price was a third of your average hotel in Rome, and it was sooo much nicer. Normally, I try never to return to the same place on a subsequent trip because I like to have new experiences, but we will return to Le Mandrie again and again. By the way, the olive oil they produce has won awards as the best in Umbria and among the top twenty in all of Italy. No small feat! I can't say enough good things about Le Mandrie. Thankyou Alex, for the highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Any room on the top floor (of two) will have breathtaking views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Le Mandrie is a labour of love and this is evident from the moment that you arrive. We were warmly greeted by Alessandro, who gave us a brief history of the place and the work that they are doing there. We were immediately won over by his passion for his work in the hotel and for the olive oil that they produce there - the olive oil is excellent. Throughout our stay all the staff were equally as passionate and very warm and helpful. Our room was roomy and well appointed, we were completely at ease throughout our stay. Assisi is a only short drive and we were also able to visit many other wonderful places using Le Mandrie as our base. Each day we would be very happy to return to our "home from home" and enjoy the first class restaurant. We were there for two weeks and would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: The upper floor has the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you are travelling by car to Assisi, you must stay at Le Mandrie. This is a very special place on the side of the hill overlooking the valley of Assisi. It is run by a very special person, Alex, whose family bought the property some years ago. They have put all their energy into making this a first-class agriturismo that I think would be hard to beat anywhere in Italy. The accommodation is spacious, clean and you can self cater if you wish. We had a small apartment that permitted this. The grounds are beautiful, the swimming pool more like a resort, and the food just fabulous. The resident bunny rabits keep you entertained while sipping on the local wine watching the sun set over the valley. I can't recommend the place more highly. Don't think twice, just go.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have views over the valley, that keep you mesmerised morning and night, but do ask for a room with a view when you book. Also, travelling as a group of three adults, we had a sofa bed in the small apartment. THis was very comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

After a long winding narrow road up a hillside we reached Le Mandrie di San Paolo and were delighted with the farmhouse that awaited us.The property is a working farm, they make olive oil. We were greeted by our very congenial host, Alex, who gave us some background on the property. He also worked the 'fields' during the day and served in the restaurant in the evenings.Our accommodation was extremely comfortable wth a wonderful view overlooking the surrounding country side. However for some people the drive up the narrow winding road could prove a challenge. We ate in the restaurant both evenings to avoid the drive at night. There was a fixed rate for the four course meal. While we enjoyed the meal; the appetizer and first course were excellent but the second course unfortunately was not very interesting and could be skipped.Overall we loved the farm home and would strongly recommend it as a perfect base from which to tour the region. We were there for two nights and very much regretted not planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews