We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint hotel in the heart of old Assisi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lieto Soggiorno
Ranked #37 of 136 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A quaint hotel in the heart of old Assisi”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My family of four had the pleasure of staying in this quaint boutique hotel in the heart of old Assisi. With the permission of the owners, we were able to drive through the pedestrian only streets to park at the front of the hotel and drop off our suitcases. Parking for our car was about 400m away at the top of the hill. You will need to be able to carry your luggage up the 20+ stairs to the front of the hotel and then up the narrow, twisting marble stairs to your room. The hotel has been recently renovated. Free wi-fi is available. The rooms were very clean and well furnished with queen beds, an amoire and a small TV. We had adjoining rooms at the top of the staircase and one had access to a small rooftop patio. Only one had airconditioning. The simple bathroom was adequate for our needs even if the shower was not defined and the whole bathroom ended up being the shower. We were assured bathroom renovations were next on the owners list.. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of all the sites in Assisi...either by walking up or downhill. A number of restaurants could be found closeby.....just remember, none open up until after 7pm for dinner! Breakfast was served in the lobby of the hotel by the owner's very pretty, friendly daughter. Cappuccino, juice, milk, cereal, croissants, cheese and sliced meat were on the menu. This is a great place to stay if your are visiting Assisi.

Room Tip: In the summer, request a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    58
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
54
109
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed in the hotel with our friends and their teenage son, who is a violinist and had to practise every day. We were not sure if it would be ok with the owners. Vinzenzo and Grazia were thrilled! Nothing seemed to be a problem for them.

We stayed in the suite, with the amazing stone arch and murals, which was very special indeed. The room is huge, with high barrel ceiling and a lovely wooden floor. The bathroom is a wet room, so the floor does get wet when you have a shower, but it did not affect our stay and extra towels were provided on request. A squeegy would be useful.

There are no fridges in the rooms, but we were offered the use of a fridge in the reception/dining room area.

Our friends stayed in a triple room which was comfortable, although a little bit on the small side for a triple. It was a very good value for money, though.

The location is unbeatable. Right in the centre, within walking distance to all the attractions and restaurants. It was very quiet at night and we slept well. Also, the hotel will assist you with the parking arrangements which are fairly straightforward.

The continental style breakfast was more than adequate. Much better that we had in a lot of Italian hotels of this class.

It was an excellent hotel choice and we will definitely stay again. We stayed in The Palazzo before and there is no comparison.

Assisi is a truly unique place. It has the architecture, the views and the Basilica! Local restaurants offer the usual Italian fare. The only exception was the restaurant in The Nun Hotel and Spa (see our separate review).

Overall, a wonderful stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Lieto Soggiorno last year for 3 days after my brothers wedding. Vincenzo the owner wa so lovely and came and met us at our car to lead us to the B&B. The room was immaculate and after my boyfriend and I had come back from a restaurant that Vicenzo had booked for us, we were welcomed with champagne on ice and italian biscuits in our room!!! Vicenzo made our experience in Assisi so memorable and I would recomend this place to anyone who visits Assisi!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollym_bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Vincenza is the most generous and welcoming host that you could find. He went out of his way to make our stay in his wonderful B&B just perfect. Once I had found the hotel on foot he accompanied me back to my car and drove with us to his B&B. Very centrally located in Assisi with the cleanest rooms that you could find anywhere. I can't fault this B&B and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the beautiful hilltop town of Assisi.

Room Tip: I looked a a lot of the rooms - all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The owners are friendly and incredible. Mr. Vicenzo did all he could to make our stay wonderful. The location is one of the best in the city, although a little difficult to find, which is normal in this kind of city. The breakfast doesn’t have too much variety, but it attended our needs. Very nice and clean hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

It has a lot of stairs and no elevator, so you have to carry your luggage all the way up.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazari09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#30 of 71 in Assisi
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#16 of 71 in Assisi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#20 of 71 in Assisi
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#22 of 71 in Assisi
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#24 of 71 in Assisi
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lieto Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lieto Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Lieto Soggiorno
Address: Via Arnaldo Fortini 26, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lieto Soggiorno 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center near San Francesco cathedral and Santa Chiara church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lieto Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing