We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
County House Il Roseto
Ranked #2 of 142 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent three nights in this lovely hotel/B&B and would have gladly stayed more if we could. This is an excellent location to visit Assisi and the surrounding area. We booked a suite on the top floor which had a private deck with a stunning view of Assisi, especially at night. The room was spacious and comfortable; the bathroom was huge with both a shower and a jetted tub. However, the best thing about Il Roseto was Massimo and his wonderful family. They bent over backwards to make sure we were happy and comfortable. "Whatever you want" was their mantra and they meant it. If you go to Il Roseto and don't eat your dinners there you will be missing out on something special. Rosita, Massimo's wife, and the staff prepared wonderful 4 course meals every night with excellent service and delicious wine, espresso, and limoncello. It was excellent and we ended up comparing all of our meals later in our vacation to the ones at Il Roseto. Julia, Massimo's mother is a dear soul and we loved her. We would not hesitate to return to Il Roseto if we were in Umbria again.

Room Tip: The "blue suite" on the top floor is very nice. However, if you are tall the sloping ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choppers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 486 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, my wife, two children, my mother, and myself end of September 2013. We were all very impressed with not only the rooms and the restaurant, but especially with the owner Massimo and of course his wife with her superb cooking.

We are ourselves hotel owners, and we could not fault the management of this lovely country house. We had two rooms, both suites, with one being on the top floor with breathtaking views of Assisi. The attention to detail of the rooms are nothing short of amazing.

The two dinners that we had were just superb with genuine produce and lovely presentation. The thing that really stands out at Il Roseto is the unique and very personable attitude of Massimo which all had us laughing with his honest and genuine comments. Always available and ready for any requests from his guests, Massimo was the highlight!

When we come back to Assisi we will definitely return to Il Roseto, for its great food, enchanting rooms and its "one of a kind" owner!

David, San Benedetto del Tronto

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This will be one of those travel experiences we will talk about for some time. Thank you the Trip Advisor recommendations... this was an amazing stay. Not just the personal welcome by Massimo, the owner; or the incredible view from our room of the Basilica all lite up; or the beautifully manicured grounds of this quaint hotel. We were invited to the owner's little restaurant where Massimo and his wife serve dinner only to their guests... a 4 course meal for some 20EUR! Deeelicious! And in the morning, they provide a breakfast spread fit for kings and queens. We felt like we were in their private home, talking with him & their other guests about world events, travel experiences, etc We didn't want to leave. And it's a hug as you are bid farewell! Later that night I realized I REALLY did not want to leave as I left some of my clothes and toiletries in our room. One short email to Massimo and he confirmed he had gathered my things and would ship them to Canada. The shipping company contacted me for particulars and my things were delivered to our home prior to our return from Italy! Not only because of the hotel and the experience, we would definitely recommend this hotel and would LOVE to support a man of genuine kindness and integrity. Thank you Massimo, we will certainly pass your cards to all our friends who travel your way. To anyone considering Assisi... you must stay here and share in the experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The view of Assisi from Il Roseto Country House is absolutely breathtaking, especially in the evening when the town is all lit up. Everything about the property is first rate, easy to find, lots of parking, nice rooms, beautiful gardens and pool, and delicious dinners with the doors wide open to the gardens and the view of Assisi. The owner, Massimo, is quite a character and loves to have fun with his guests. He helped make our time there so enjoyable and we had many laughs together. Just don't get him going on Italian politics! Absolutely would stay here again. Assisi is very very special. Carol & John Short, Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: The view from our bed was directly to Assisi, couldn't ask for better. Think all the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Three adults in our mid-60s spent 2 nights at Roseto. Our room accommodation was pleasant, the bathroom a good size. One thing lacking was comfortable chairs in our room. Also, there wasn't an inside seating/gathering area for visitors who do not want to sit in their room after a day of sightseeng. Fortunately, we had pleasant weather (it rained several times on our trip) in Assisi & were able to enjoy the poolside with a bottle of wine before dinner. There are no English speaking channels available on the TV.
The innkeeper, Massimo had a good command of English and was helpful.
We had purchased the dinner package which we normally don't do; as we like to experience the local restaurants. (I think this policy will be followed in the future). We ate dinner here two nights; it was served sharply at 8 pm. The food presentation was nice and the food satisfying. The dining room was enclosed with a heavy clear tent, allowing us to view Assisi at night which we enjoyed the most. We were told our delicious breakfast baked goods was prepared by Massimo's wife. Breakfast consented of a large selection of different sweets and breads; along with cereals, very few items without sugar. All in all, a very pleasant experience, we just didn't think it was worthy the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at Il Roseto, on a half board basis. Half board is something we rarely do, preferring to eat in different local restaurants. However the owner, Massimo, assured us that his wife would cook something different for me every night, no problem. We are so glad we did (only one of us is veggie).
Every night we had four courses of heavenly food, preceded by a complimentary glass of sparkling wine. It was an amazing experience. The restaurant is in the garden, with shelter if the weather is inclement. However we were lucky enough to have warm evenings, with the covers pulled back giving a magnificent view of Assisi, and especially the Basillica lit up in all its glory.
Bottled water, coffee and alcohol are extra's, but the quality of the local wine is superb, mainly from the Montefalco area.
Breakfast was a treat of Massimo's wife's cooking skills, plus croissants, yoghurts, cereals etc.
Massimo is a wonderful host, with sound local knowledge of where to go, what to see and how to get there.
An added bonus is that it is less than a mile from Assisi town and on the local bus route to the top of the town. Buses every 30 minutes and 2 Euros per person each way. Tip - take the bus to the Assisi bus terminus and you can meander down to the Basilica of St Francis, much easier that way. Either bus or walk back to the hotel. You can also easily walk to the small town of St Maria Dei Angeli in about 10 - 15 minutes from the hotel. It is also a great base from which to reach a lot of wonderful towns and villages and is close to Perugia.
Our best tip is to go for the half board option. The pool is another good bonus.

Room Tip: Try to get the suite with the private terrace which gives an unrivalled view of the town and basilic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

From the moment you arrive and are greeted by the gregarious and omni-present owner, for whom nothing is too much trouble, you feel like one of the family.
The rooms are comfortable, the pool and garden relaxing, the views sublime, and access to Assisi easy.
Over and above this, dinner is just a treat. On a nice evening, sitting by the pool drinking good wine and eating traditional, non-touristy, Italian food is simply wonderful.
A definite highlight of a 5 week tour around Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew9551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
2.6 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 70 in Assisi
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
483 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Assisi
Grand Hotel Assisi
#16 of 70 in Assisi
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County House Il Roseto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County House Il Roseto

Address: Viale Patrono d'Italia, 77, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: $66 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House il Roseto is situated between Assisi and Santa Maria degli Angeli, with wonderful view of the city of Assisi. Il Roseto is conveniently located, both Assisi and Santa Maria degli Angeli can easily be reached on foot. Free watched parking, big rose garden with swimming-pool and Jacuzzi. 8 rooms and suites with ensuite bathroom, Jacuzzi, TV even in bathroom, private terraces with breathtaking views. A typical restaurant is available every day with the best selection of wines and local food. Restaurant prices: 25 euros per person, drinks not included. A lovely peaceful place a few steps from Assisi, ideal to reach all the most important attractions in Umbria. Recommendend for leisure and business clients (all business facilities available, no conference facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your County House Il Roseto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing