We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelente Restaurant”

Ristorante Buca Di San Francesco
Ranked #50 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Exelente Restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The restaurant Buca di San Francesco was the chosen restaurant for Christmas lunch, during my stay in Assisi. Beautiful choice made by intuition.
Excellent top quality in the art of cooking the food with a taste unusual. Also with a very nice presentation. Good wine list.

When you decide to go to Buca di San Francesco, ask for help to Mr. Giovanni Betti, the owner. Special person that will give you all the expert ideas and opinion about the menu, tastes and choices.

I strongly advice a visit to Buca to complete a fantastic stay in Assisi!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margarida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    136
    71
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Beautiful view of the open square and one of the grand churches. We had a great panini and a good house wine.The staff did not speak much English but that did not matter. Prices were good and there was a more extensive menu for those that wanted a full meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Planemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great service and amazing food”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I just had an amazing meal. My wife fell ill and I had to go and find somewhere to eat alone. I ended up i this restaurant and couldn't have been happier. Greeted at the door by a friendly waiter, seated and served.
The waiter understood english and I asked him (as I always do) to recommend something.
The meal was 5 kinds of bruschetta to start, followed by a wonderful pasta with a very nice variety of meats on it and finish a nice plate of cheese. Of course this was all alongside a nice house red wine.
Wine, water, and 3 courses for €30. Not too bad if you ask me.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant.
Expensive feel at and inexpensive price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Waiters with an attitude”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Good food and wine. Great location, beautiful antiques. The waiters were dismissive and had an attitude. We speak Italian but that did not help us at all because the waiters seemed disinterested.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Francesca124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Romantic, classy, classic Italian restaurant in a perfect setting.”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We ate here on a cold, rainy evening in March and loved the food. It is a bit pricey but if you are going to splurge on more than prosciutto sandwiches and pizza, this is the place to do it. The waiter was very attentive and the inside setting was beautiful. I wish it would have been warmer because the patio looked amazing.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uglychicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Buca Di San Francesco also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Buca Di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing