We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views and great food”

Ristorante Metastasio
Ranked #52 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: $26 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and great food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We arrived at 1pm and without a reservation, we were lucky to get a table at the front of the lower terrace, food was great, service was good. Not far from the Basilica. Tourist Information described it as good food and great views, we were not disappointed ..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SASandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    170
    61
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Completely Unexpected”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had no plans to eat in Assisi and new nothing about its restaurants so used TripAdvisor to help us out and boy did we strike gold - we were coming to the end of our holiday and had eaten in some very good restaurants during our two weeks and this one is most certainly up there if not a tad above. The food is traditional Umbria fare cooked to perfection (Fillet steak with Truffle sauce was historic!!), its family run (which is always a good start), the staff were attentive, helpful, carried a can do attitude with a smile and the location simply breathtaking. We had such wonderful evening we would have gone back the next day had we not had to come back. If you are in the area this place is worth making a diversion for!!!!.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HennersB-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Metastasio words dont describe it....poetry”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pietro Buonaventura Metastasio was an Italian poet. He was born in 1698 at Assisi and died in 1782.
As we were lost in trying to find our hotel in Assisi I glanced sideways whilst driving to see a terrace and what appeared to be lovely views. So, after checking in to our hotel we walked back to find this restaurant and see if we could get in.
What a delight. We were shown to the terrace just on dusk to experience the most amazing view sitting on the edge of the world as it were!!
It got better from there as our waiter was very attentive and very willing to answer our tourist questions and explain some of the towns and hillsides. it was about then that my sister in law said "I think I've died and gone to Heaven".
The food was outstanding, the wine very well priced and overall this was one of the, if not the best, meals we had in 4 weeks in Italy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“magnificent views!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I wandered in to this restaurant as the twilight in Assisi was just starting. I saw the deck outside with its breathtaking views, and immediately booked in for dinner.
One hour later, I was seated out on the terrace with the panoramic vista before me, and a lovely glass of prosecco in hand.
If you go to Assisi, then go to this lovely place for a twilight dinner.
The light in Assisi at dusk is truly special. The meal I had, lamb chops was quite nice, and the dessert, panna cotta with forest berry sauce was outstanding.
5 stars for the service, the dessert and the unforgettable views.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewren72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We happened on Metastasio by chance and were delighted by the experience. After initial hesitation, because we arrived 5 minutes before lunch closed, the manager welcomed us warmly. Umbrian cheese plate w Umbrian white wine, a zuppetta and plate of ravioli, followed by coffees and all the while a wonderful view of the countryside below. Strongly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillMagrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Metastasio also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante Metastasio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing