We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Great Food”

Ristorante "Taverna dei Consoli"
Ranked #13 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were lucky to get a table on the balcony. The service was great and the food just a good. Be sure to make reservations if you want to sit outside. The view over the sqaure was a nice additon to the fine food. What a way to relax after a busy day. I highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    268
    85
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience in Assisi”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate at three restaurants recommended by the hotel staff during our stay, this one was the best. Outstanding, friendly service, a wonderful view from the balcony (comfortable outside eating in late September) and the food was outstanding. I had the pecorino salad and a creamy pasta dish that was out of this world...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jimfromquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disapointing Lunch”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

At first glance this place looks amazing with a terrace over the square. However after a quick trip up the stairs and two miserable bald waiters later we were seated and found that initial looks can be deceptive as the view from the terrace is of; well nothing! The chairs are the wrong height, you can’t sit under the tables (cheap options), the waiters really don’t know what service is and the food was small, poor and left us feeling like we should have gone to the first place just below! This was made worse by the religious tourists (Americans) who never seem to shut up but to be fair that was not the restaurants fault. Tip - avoid avoid avoid as not good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Umbrian cuisine and a view from the terrace”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

When the menu posted outside the restaurant says “ask our wait staff about our gluten-free pasta”, it’s a good sign they are aware of diners’ special needs, and likely pay attention to details in every aspect. And at Taverna dei Consoli, they also proudly display their TripAdvisor rating. So in we went, and had certainly one of our best lunches of any trip: outstanding food and service, and a table on the terrace with a commanding view of Assisi’s Piazza del Comune.

The extensive food choices provided a good survey of traditional Umbrian cuisine. Among our group’s choices: GF pasta with wild boar sauce; fennel salad with a local cheese (sprightly and refreshing); and grilled chicken with fresh rosemary and a balsamic reduction. All very tasty. At this point, we couldn't resist dessert. I felt it imperative to try the local specialty which is a plate of biscotti along with a locally-produced dark white dessert wine. I had noted locals devouring this item previously, so I knew the routine was to dip the biscotti into the wine, enjoy, and then repeat the process until all the biscotti and wine are gone. What a great local tradition! Others in our group savored panna cotta, one with chocolate sauce and the other with a generous topping of frutti di bosco.

This restaurant places so high on our list that we returned a second time during our five days in Assisi. On this occasion we sampled the pork medallions with lardo and balsamico, plus grilled Umbrian sausages with polenta. All outstanding as before. We would not miss Taverna dei Consoli on any future trip to Assisi.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knightspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4th Generation Restaurant is worth finding.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just off the Piazza del Comune upstairs is the Taverna dei Consoli. It is easy to overlook with all the activity at ground level, but worth the effort. It has been family operated since 1936 and the food and service were excellent and showed the owners' pride. Worth finding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante "Taverna dei Consoli" also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante "Taverna dei Consoli"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing