We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, off the beaten track” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Pallotta

Trattoria Pallotta
Ranked #17 of 232 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In the Piazza Del Comune, right in front of the Temple of Minerva, you pass an arch known as “Volta Pinta” with the marvellous grotesques painted by Raffaellino Del Colle in the sixteenth century. Trattoria Pallotta is discretely set apart, at the end.The simple decor will make you feel the familial warmth. Before being seated at your table, ask to visit the cellar that was discovered during the renovation works. Here you will find many regional labels as well as a small selection of national wines, some of which are served by the glass.Margherita looks after the preparation of the meals, using prime local produce and will always offer you new seasonal dishes, staying faithful to the tradition.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had great ravioli and lasagne as well as INCREDIBLE fresh minestrone soup with parmesan. For dessert - excellent white chocolate mousse. In addition, the bathrooms were clean, the service was very good, the atmosphere was lovely, there were several wines available by the glass, and we saw many locals dining here. Not touristy at all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedTent1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    472
    127
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Italty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

On a day trip to Assisi we were directed by a local shop keeper to this gem! We had hands down the most delicious meal and most outstanding service AND view that we had in Italy (including far more expensive Venus). Their menu is extensive and we were unhappily rushed so we opted for the 18€ "Tourist Menu" which included appetizer, primi, secondi plates with salad and desert!! We were astounded by how amazing the food was. We could not begin to eat all that we were offered. We usually avoid one price options finding them lacking in quality and choice. Not the case here. The selections were lovely and the whole experience so divine that we planned another trip to Assisi hoping to eat there again! If you are in Assisi having a spiritual experience, EAT HERE...it is food for the body and the soul!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent cuisine, great atmosphere, value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We asked a local shopowner where he eats when he wants a good meal (not 'where is a good place to eat') and he pointed us towards the Trattoria Pallotta. It was full when we arrived at 1.30pm on a Saturday, so we left our name, took a stroll, and 30 minutes later had a sunny corner table and our hands on a promising menu. I had the mixed vegetarian antipasto plate (Euros 11), and it was really the best mixed plate I have every had. A tasty selection of warm delicacies, including a small egg tart concoction that was baked fresh when we ordered. My partner had an exquisite home made ravioli with buffalo mozzarella in a truffle sauce. All this washed down with a glass of local dry white (Euro 4). For the secondi I ordered the port medallions - perfectly cooked, tender and moist. We shared a delicious fruit strudel for dessert. This was the best meal we had in Umbria.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RomeReviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good trattoria in centre of Assisi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

A busy but friendly place, used as much by locals as tourists. Interesting food; I chose different things from the "Menu d'autunno" on two successive nights and both were excellent. Decent house wine, and reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Italia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful meal at Trattoria Pallotta; our best by far in four weeks of travelling the length and breadth of Italy. We enjoyed the full gourmet menu with matched wines and thoroughly thoroughly recommend. The quality of both food and wine was excellent; unbelievably good given the price: it's a bargain! The pigeon was delicious, as was the lamb. The veal was also excellent. Also try the tortellini with pecorino and honey; fantastic! Just when we thought we could not possibly stuff ourselves with more, we were presented with the most loveliest desserts: chocolate torta with cream and orange and Assisi strudel with crema was, for us, joy in every mouthful. The staff were very generous with the wines and several pours were not added to the bill, which was an unexpected treat. Best of all, however, was their wonderful staff member, Jenny, who made our night. Che Bella! Molto felice! Thank you Trattoria Pallotta, for you are our Italy highlight by far!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Pallotta also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Trattoria Pallotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing