We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umbria at it's best”
Review of Casa Panfili

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umbria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Panfili
Ranked #433 of 1,363 Specialty Lodging in Umbria
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My friends and I spent three entertaining days at Casa Panfili! The 5Km drive up the very remote track to this beautiful spot raised our expectations and we were not disappointed. The stunning views from the terrace and the warm welcome from Betty and Al were enough for us to know that our stay in their fantastic home was exactly what we had been looking for. With Al's maps and directions we were able to find our way to the various towns and cities we had decided to visit. Our cookery sessions with Betty were fun as well as informative. She's an excellent chef and runs a very well ordered kitchen. With her help, guidance and patience, we managed to produce some tatsy dishes which were shared in the evenings with the other guests.
The weather could have been better but the beautiful scenery, good food, delicious wines, entertaining company at Casa Panfili more than compensated for the thunderstorms, power cuts and early morning mist! Next time I hope we'll be able to take advantage of the swimming pool and the evening sun on the terrace!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Visiting Casa Panfili is like a holiday in a good friend's home. Al & Betty are terrific hosts, particularly for English speaking guests, with their understanding of the region & ability to provide directions & advice, combined with their hospitality. Dining from Betty's kitchen is an experience. She's a super chef & her guidance is excellent. Al's home pressed vino, honey & olive oil (grown & bottled if not pressed at home) are great accompaniments. Fascinating conversation combined with a beautiful hilltop setting with easy access to Umbrian & Tuscan sites make Casa Panfili a fabulous vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Casa Panfili, this delightful, restored, beautifully-appointed former farmhouse, sited high above the Umbrian/Tuscany border. This was my second visit but the first had been just a lunch stop, several years ago when I had experienced only lunch and a quick look round. This time, we got the full works from our most attentive hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble in helping us to get maximum benefit and enjoyment from the unique 'Panfili experience'!

Despite a BA flight delay from Gatwick and a queue at the car rental desk which meant that we arrived an hour later than expected, the journey from Pisa airport followed Al's very precise route instructions and we were welcomed warmly with an excellent, convivial dinner, en-famile, cooked and served by Betty and complemented by Al's own Panfili wines, in company with 3 of Al and Betty's other guests. Sleep followed in our delightful, timbered farmhouse bedroom with stunning views over the Umbrian/Tuscany border, through the shuttered windows. The en-suite room was spotlessly clean and reflected commendable attention to detail. Not only was there a comprehensive information folder but also a thoughtful selection of toiletries as well as a most comfortable bed. Towels included some for use at the pool.

One of the joys of panfili is the flexibility in chosing how to spend one's time, to accommodate the unpredicatable May weather, as well as personal whim! So, after an excellent breakfast the following morning, Al led us on a local walk to introduce us to some of the wonderful countryside and yet more superb views, coming back to a delicious lunch over which the afternoon's activities were planned. This was a visit to Cortona, one of the many most attractive places that lie within easy reach. Wherever we decided to go (eg Assisi, Perugia, Lake Trasimeno, Lucca), Al produced more of his excellent route instructions, maps, guide books, suggested places of interest and eating, information on local markets and even some sunshine!

On those evenings spent at Panfili, we dined splendidly, either at Betty's hands or at the hand of other guests benefiting from Betty's Italian cookery lessons. These can be tailored individually whether for a single session or a more comprehensive course. Recipes are provided to take away and the whole culinary experience is one of kind, helpful, thoughtful support and guidance. After dinner there was much fun to be had in front of a large, roaring log fire, playing 'Clag' - a very interesting and amusing variation on Whist, which I had first encountered many years ago under a different name - "Oh Hell!".

During the whole of our stay, we found nothing to fault and our hosts provided the gold standard in every aspect of their superb, thoughtful, warm, generous hospitality. For those who seek a break where peace, beauty, relaxation,comfort, fine cuisine, attention to detail and amazing countryside are there for the taking, a visit to Casa Panfili provides it all - in spades!

Thank you.

Martin A

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked our trip to Casa Panfili at very short notice after hearing recommendations from friends. Upon reading the directions to the property, we knew that it was going to be away from the crowds...perfect, and as we neared the property it was as expected, beautifully remote and absolutely stunning scenery. Our welcome from Al and Betty was very warm, and our room was beautifully simple and elegant yet traditionally tuscan. The house perches high over the surrounding countryside, and provides great views. To the rear of the property is an olive grove, and to the right a vineyard. When we finally surfaced on our first morning, we were greeted with smiles and a warmth and ease of hospitality from Betty that you would not expect to receive in the UK. The breakfast table was crammed to the brim with fresh fruits, homemade conserves, bread, cereals...... the list goes on. The wide open window with yet another picture postcard view provided a gentle breeze and the warm shaft of sunlight promised a good days weather ahead. We stayed at the house on our first day. The cabana by the poolside was a welcome retreat from the heat of the midday sun and we lazed by the poolside reading and generally taking in the tranquility of the place.
We stayed for 3 nights in total and were sad to leave. We are sure we will be returning in the near future, and highly recommend a stay at Casa Panfili.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyHellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Casa Panfili is a beautifully restored Italian Farmhouse set high in the hills on the Tuscan/Umbrian border. The view from my room was stunning, show-casing the Italian countryside at its best. A bella vista indeed. Betty and Al have created a wonderful "home from home" atmosphere and the attention to detail is evident in the thoughtful touches throughout. Betty is an excellent cook, providing restaurant quality food and Al can be justly proud of his home-produced wine and olive oil. The setting is idyllic, if a little remote and the drive up from the main road is not for the faint-hearted. However, it is worth the effort to be able to relax in the gardens or by the pool, with a long, tall drink from the Honesty Bar watching the world go by. There is loads to do in the area and Al is happy to supply concise directions to interesting places near and far. I can highly recommend Casa Panfili for a relaxing break in a traditional Italian Farmhouse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This beautifully restored farmhouse overlooking picturesque Umbrian countryside is an ideal place to relax and unwind. Al and Betty are very hospitable and helpful. The rooms are well appointed, have amazing views, and cater for all your needs. The meals prepared by Betty were outstanding and there was no need to go looking for a ristorante in the evenings if you don't want to. Betty runs Italian cooking lessons and you can see why they are quickly booked up! There are lots of interesting places to visit in the local area but if you would rather just enjoy the pool or go for a long walk (guided by Al) from the house then that's fine as well!
If you want, Al will show you his vineyard and his winemaking skills as well as the olive tree orchard! We shall definitely return next year!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Janette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A lovingly restored farmhouse with so much character. I loved the room I stayed in with wooden beams and shutters. Al and Betty could not have been more helpful. Who could want for more with such wonderful hospitality. We sat down to some amazing meals overlooking stunning scenery. So impressed were we with the meals we decided to take a cookery lesson. We were taught how to make pasta from scratch, which proved to be such fun. A perfect place to be.
I would recommend Casa Panfili to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umbria hotels
31.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Giardino dei Ciliegi
19 mi away
B&B 7 Baci
B&B 7 Baci
#39 of 863 in Province of Perugia
112 reviews
47.8 mi away
Castello Di Pupaggi
Castello Di Pupaggi
#521 of 1,363 in Umbria
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Agriturismo Pugnano Alto
Agriturismo Pugnano Alto
#706 of 1,363 in Umbria
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Casa Panfili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Panfili

Address: San Leo Bastia, 06010, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,363 Specialty Lodging in Umbria
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing