We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to be there”
Review of Museo Leonardiano

Museo Leonardiano
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.09*
and up
Florence Super Saver: Best of Florence Walking Tour, Accademia Gallery, Uffizi...
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Vinci
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museo Leonardiano in Vinci offers one of the broadest and most original collections of machines and models devoted to Leonardo the engineer, the architect and the scientist,and to the history of the renaissance technology in general.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasure to be there”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Vinci is really little and quite place. Everything you see there is surrounded by love of locals - Vinci museum, his family house, the church where Leonardo was baptised, charming little shops with handmade stuff. We enjoyed our short in stay in Vinci very much and think it was a great idea to see this place

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olyanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    310
    184
    68
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic historical museum!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This museum is full of working models of Leonardo da Vinci's inventions. Much thought went into the placement and details. Children especially will enjoy everything. Also the signs are in both Italian and English. A pointer...once inside stand about six feet from the windows and take in the views of the Tuscan countryside. You won't believe what you will see...the walls to the window must be 15" thick and are beveled about 1" smaller in front (from the inside to the outside) than the outside giving the prespective of a framed painting. Amazing how they did that and I'll bet most people don't notice. Bellisimo!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank edbohannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eye opener!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Learn a lot about Leonardo. What a genius he was! Take the time to examine all the exhibit carefully. Very educational. Also have a look at his birthplace. Beautiful scenery. It is situated in a marvelous location and fun to drive to for a car guy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Advisor106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable day”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

As of October 2012 there is a bus that runs from the train station in Empoli approx. every 40 minutes. The museum is the last stop in front of bar Leonardo.

It was interesting and at the time of my visit, there were handouts in a variety of languages in each gallery as well as English language translations of most of the displays.

Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Getting There Was Half the Fun”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We traveled to Florence the beginning of September for a week of museums and fun. My husband's favorite artist is Leonardo da Vinci so we went to Vinci for the day. We took the train from Florence to Empoli. Two tickets are 14 Euros. It's the 3rd stop. Get off the train and look for a cab as that's the only way to get there. It's 25 Euros. It was a fast ride! The models of da Vinci's genius, are made of wood. And it's a two-part museum. It's worth the trip. The views from the top of the town were lovely. The Tourist Center was more than helpful for our return to Empoli to get the train. There is a bus that leaves in front of the tobacco shop at 3:50 daily. Take it. It's 4 euros. It will deposit you at the Train Station. They would have had to call for a taxi to come to Vinci to pick us up. If there was a disappointment - it's the fact that we would have had to walk almost two miles to the farmhouse to see where Leonardo was born and then another two miles back. I had read that there was a shuttle to and from the place, but alas there is not. It was a great day trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetJellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Leonardiano also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo Leonardiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing