We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Nonna Gina

Osteria Nonna Gina
Ranked #37 of 521 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been to this restaurant a coupe of times and it is always a pleasant experience and always busy. It's deceptively large, with a downstairs area. The menu is pretty large and I don't think there is an English translation (it's been a yer since I've been here so this may have changed). Both meals I've had here have been great, with a good atmosphere and helpful service (for translatins).

The icing on the cake is the bottle on grappa, limoncello and amaretto at the end of the meal!
Great [place for a low key dinner with friends

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christinadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    448
    124
    41
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A cozy place for hungry people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A small and cozy restaurant a little bit outside of the city center.

We had a "primi piatti" and a "secondi piatti", both were really excellent but far too much for a lunch time!
So unless, you are really hungry, I would recommend an appetizer and a "primi" OR a "secondi piatti".
I have seen someone else getting a steak "Parmigiana" and it was a really impressive piece of meat!
We did not try the wine but we've got with the bill "offered by the house" a Grappa or an Amaretto.
It looks like that at lunch time, the place is quite busy. It's better to arrive quite early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
390 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Ribollita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I came here recommended by the B&B where I was staying. It is a small, homely 'grandma' restaurant. The service is good and the waitress gave good advice. I wanted to have both gnocchi and ribollita but she said that the portion are quite big. So I ended up to have only the ribollita. She was right. It was definitely enough for me. I had high hopes for the soup but it was actually better than I expected. It had definitely brewed a long time, maybe over the night (?). So soft and mellow it was.

The 'grandpa' was chatting with the guests, at least with those ones who could understand Italian. I could not so I just had to imagine the stories. Then he took a small photo album and showed photos of his pet. A pig(let) called Piccolo (?). It assumingly lived inside a house. Anyway, nice restaurant to come and relax and enjoy good home-made meals. To finish up they brought two bottles to the table; grappa and amaretto. Wow, the smell of the amaretto was so strong and sweet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK-food very plain. Atmosphere cozy --on a rainy night.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ordered chicken-grilled. It was unseasoned and extremely plain. At the end they bring complimentary grappa--which was a nice touch. My husbands food was very simple as well versus the complex flavors we had in other places. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amv3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK but not agan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel. We were dissapointed. It is a small, restaurant, somewhat far from downtown. Food was "OK". Nothing special. Lots of it -- perhaps a good choice for a very hungry traveller.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Nonna Gina also viewed

Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Nonna Gina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing