We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to spend your last evening in Siena”

Antica Osteria da Divo
Ranked #5 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The perfect place to spend your last evening in Siena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found this restaurant by chance and were lucky they could accommodate six of us without pre-booking. The atmosphere of the interior is great, tables set within mini 'caves' downstairs, but what really sets this restaurant apart is the very high standards of both the food and the staff. Every course was of the highest quality, served with friendliness and professionalism by the staff. A special mention for Esena who made all of us feel very special, from advising on the starters right through to booking our taxi at the end of the evening. This combined party of Poles and English will be back next time for sure!
Don't go there just for something to eat, go there for a memorable evening out that will rank as high as any other holiday memory.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,168
    891
    225
    88
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pino and family serve up wonderful food and hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were recommended to Da Divo by close friends who had dined there a year earlier. Wow, were we glad we took their recommendation! Our hotel in Tuscany helped with the reservation and upon arrival, we knew we were in for a special evening. Owner and head chef Pino Di Cicco along with his father-in-law personally attended to us the entire evening. He was very gracious, giving us a wonderful history lesson of the restaurant as well as Siena. Rather than have each member of our table of 4 order individually from the menu, we asked Pino to simply take us on a tour of his favorite selections. We were treated to some of the most rich and flavorful dishes we could have imagined. Luckily for us, Pino had the remains of some of the last truffles of the season, which he infused into a wonderful risotto. For me, the highlight of the evening was the hand-rolled Senese pasta and Wild-Boar ragu, which our group had been anxious to taste since first arriving in Tuscany. The selections of wines were excellent as well. We cannot wait to go back, but hope to see Pino and enjoy his company again later this summer in Chicago!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great truffle menu and so-so Florentine steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a beef tartar, pasta and risotto from their truffle menu which were great. The waiter shalve the fresh black truffle in front of you on the dishes. The Florentine steak was a little dry and less flavourful compare to the one we had in montepulciano. Service is flawless and the owner is super helpful when we asked for direction after the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miu_and_Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“unforgettable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I came here for dinner on our honeymoon. We didn't have a reservation but they were able to accomodate us anyway and offered us a glass of wine while we waited, which they never charged us for. Being in the restaurant itself is quite an experience since it feels like you are in the inside of a gorgeously decorated wine cellar. To start we had a delicious cheese and butternut squash tart with freshly shaved truffles that was beyond delicious. My husband had pork stuffed with spinach and cheese, which was cooked to perfection. I had risotto that was served on my plate only after mixing it in a parmesan cheese wheel to add a delicious amount of creaminess to the dish. The ambiance was perfect and very romantic. Definitely one of the most memorable meals of our honeymoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I could back more often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

15 of us came here to celebrate a wonderful trip and the truly atmospheric restaurant and food did not disappoint. Pino, the exec chef, took excellent care of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frantastikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Osteria da Divo also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Antica Osteria da Divo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing