We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #77 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This is such a wonderful and charming little inn. Our room was spectacular - a sitting room separate from the bedroom and a view to die for. The staff was so nice, helpful and friendly. Location was great, a short walk from the Square - but Siena is not a big town anyway. Only downside for some may be no elevator. Never ate breakfast in morning so can't speak to it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lm55417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were in the junior suite at the very top of the building so we had a beautiful view of Siena! The room itself was very spacious, with flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and a smaller sitting room with a sofa bed that would have accommodated an extra person or two. Overall the residence was very clean and charming although not too luxurious. Breakfast was basic buffet style with fruit, juice, jams, bread and cake. Coffee or tea were prepared on the spot based on your preference. We were very well impressed with the reception and their welcome, Vanessa was very gracious and made sure we understood we would be at the top of the building without an elevator and asked whether we preferred to change rooms. She accompanied us to show us our room, making sure we were happy with it. The reception is open until midnight, if you expect to return later you keep the key and have a pass code for the main door to get back in (useful on our second night!). We stayed there for two nights and would recommend it to others, particularly for the good service we felt we received.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lourdes_Flores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

What a tragedy this hotel is.There are several definite pluses but our memory is spoiled by the negatives.On the plus side the staff were charming and most helpful, the beakfast buffet was generous, the bedding and towels pristine and the bathroom though very cramped was adequate and well equipped. The location was excellent giving an almost level access to the Campo.However there the plaudirts end.We were given a twin room on the ground floor as we had asked not to have too many steps, however we still had to go up to the first floor for breakfast.Our room was very dark,and as we were very unlucky with the weather it was incredibly cold.The beds were very narrow singles and rather hard. All the doors and furniture not just in our room but along our route to and from breakfast had been painted in a coloured stucco type effect presumably in a mistaken attempt to make it look antique with some very crudely painted flowers added ,but what also caught the eye was the fact that the painting was Badly chipped and worn and very definitely needed a good wash down to remove large areas of dirty fingermarks.In addition the floors throughout the building had probably been washed but there was still a lot of inground dirt and all along the bottoms of the walls were the dirty marks where many brooms and mops had touched .In particular the stairs which could have looked wonderful had stone steps with years of dirt needing to be scrubbed out.The bathroom is our room was clean to the eye but it smelt so that we had to make sure to shut the door to avoid the smell seeping into the bedroom and in the corridor outside our room there was a strong smell of stale tobacco It is a tragedy.It could be such a lovely building, and the staff are obviously very willing and hardworking but the whole place gives an uncared for appearance and certainly doesn't show the style and attention to detail that we found elsewhere in Italy. I'm not a picky person and not particularly houseproud but I did find the state of cleanliness and the decor most disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margypargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Very disappointed with this bed and breakfast. Firstly, don't believe the photos on the internet. Those are not the rooms you can expect. Rooms were extremely dated, bed was as hard, and felt like sleeping on the floor. Overhead light was a single bare circular flourescent bulb. Staff was surly with the exception of the young lady that worked the desk one day. Internet only works if you sit by the front desk and still slow. Location is it's only plus,and one of it's worst flaws. It is on a major street out of town and so you get every motorbike, truck, and car going from Piazza di Campo. If you have the misfortune of being on the street side you wont sleep at night. There is a locals social club and the drunks will sing to you as they walk past your room. We did not sleep either night and couldn't wait to leave Siena. At 150 Euro this place is greatly over-priced. Pay no more than 80 Euro or choose another location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TX_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Surprising experience in a laid back street. A cool place to stay in this amazing city.
Verz close the center and to a very fine osteria in the same street - Osteria le Legge.
Very much recommended if you feel like diving into the history of Siena.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

First of all, go to Siena. It's awesome. Second of all, when you're there, go eat at Guidoriccio. It was the best meal of our trip.

As for the hotel, it was a mixed bag. On the one hand Roberto, who greeted us and took our bags to our room, was incredibly nice and helpful, extremely solicitous. The location was great (not far from Il Campo) and our bathroom had recently been renovated.

But the room itself wasn't great. The bed was a bit uncomfortable (two twins rather than a queen) and while there was plenty of space and a great painting on the ceiling, the lighting was either too dim or way too bright and the tile floor was old and a little dingy. Worst of all, we both had trouble breathing in the middle of the night - we feared there might be some kind of mold, and at best there was dust. If you're not sensitive to allergens then don't worry about it - the room was certainly clean - but if you are, maybe go somewhere else.

Given these flaws it's really a testament to Roberto and the rest of the staff that we're giving it four stars. We just felt really welcome. He even lent us a guidebook to keep for the night we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer6418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed 4 days in room 201 junior suite and for the price and location it was perfect. It is practical, clean and basic. No frills and has everything you just need and nothing more.
Breakfast is the same... Basic but who needs a huge breakfast when you're about to gorge yourself at lunch and dinner.
This suited us perfectly.
No pretensions.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#29 of 40 in Siena
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
#76 of 126 in Siena
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via San Martino 14 | Palazzo Zaicchetti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $52 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino is a charming boutique hotel located in Palazzo Zaicchetti an original medieval structure renovated to offer luxury standards and service. It is nestled in the heart of Siena just 200 meters from the famous Piazza del Campo. The Locanda di San Martino is the ideal place to experience the alluring charm and the atmosphere of this city that has maintained its medieval identity over the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di San Martino Siena Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing