We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”
Review of Porta Romana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porta Romana Hotel
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's been 5 years of consistent great lodging. First, this is one of the few places where one can park, walk into Siena, have a prefect scenery-perch, sleep in lovely rooms, and be served a great breakfast. Thanks!

Room Tip: I have no issue with any of the rooms! The location of the hotel is in a quiet area, off a private d...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarlenaMaione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Porta Romana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 367 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

stayed here twice before good location to tour siena il campo only 15 20 min walk free car park a big plus breakfast typically italian but sufficiant rooms nice clean staff really friendly and helpfull nice garden with juccizi would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray47gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful location and building overlooking a valley. Room was comfortable, small shower but a shower is a shower. Breakfast was a delightful experience in the garden with home grown tomatoes, boiled eggs, cold meats, pastries, cereals, toast and yoghurt. Outside ZTL of Siena and an easy walk to the city. Parking on site. Friendly staff. Spa available for an extra fee (we didn't use).

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rougedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved this hotel! We only stayed one night but will definitely return. Perfect location since we had a car - easy parking and then could easily walk into Siena. The setting is perfect. There is a beautiful terrace overlooking a scenic valley. The double room was very large with a separate room for the shower. The staff was so helpful and even helped us locate our next lodging. Breakfast was a wonderful experience in the garden. Lots of choices on the buffet and wonderful service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon8876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a very nice small hotel with a wonderful, friendly staff.
The rooms are small but you don't come to Siena to stay in your room.
Our room, on the second level of the main building had a wonderful view out across the adjacent valley.
Tiny but perfectly adequate bathroom. The fold-out shower was a bit of a challenge but, again, it was perfectly adequate.
The location is a bit of a negative. Although it has free parking (a big plus), it's at least 15-20 minutes to walk into the center of Siena. Doesn't seem like much but it adds up, especially on very warm days like we had. However, that's really just a minor issue as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

15min walk to Pizza de Campo can't get lost, slight hill. Hotel room was clean comfortable - shower broken - an important requirement, reported not fixed. Breakfast very poor: 1 milk jug for entire room, choice of cereal limited to corn flakes or choc version. Tiny bread basket filled with one yes one slice of bread - cheese / ham again very small amount left out. We are not big eaters but it all seems very begrudging - coffee typically in Italy cool - but cold on our last day - asked for fresh never came in a 2/3rds empty room. It's expensive at 90euro a night ok near to Siena but at least provide a substantial breakfast - frankly I left thinking they were just a bit arrogantly thinking people will come because we are so close. Think carefully there may be better choices!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbawsmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked to stay here for 3 nights in May 2013.
Upon arriving we were do disappointed with the accommodation. The rooms were like a college dormatory and so sterile and small. Felt the website completely false advertised the hotel. We were supposed to stay for 3 and wanted to leave straight away but management told us we had to stay for at least one. The spa and laundry facilities were 'not available' at the time of our stay. Overall completely unsatisfied and would never recommend or stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#11 of 40 in Siena
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#10 of 40 in Siena
587 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Romana Hotel

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 35, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $65 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Romana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Porta Romana and the green hills of the sienese countryside are the perfect background for our Hotel. A XVIIIth century building recently renewed and equipped with every modern comfort. A perfect blend for the ones who wish to enjoy one of the world's most fascinating cities. The Hotel, overlooking a stunning hillside scenery, is located 15 minutes walking from Piazza del Campo. Large private parking. Telephone, Sat TV, Wake-up call, Laundry service, Bar, Jacuzzi hot tub and private parking free for direct reservations, Free WiFi Internet access, Pets admitted, Panoramic terrace and solarium, gay-friendly, Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Amex and Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Porta Romana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing