We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place, beautiful landscape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Romana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porta Romana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely place, beautiful landscape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Porta Romana in the first week of October/2012. We choose the hotel because of the amenities and the location near one of the "Portas" of the city.
We stayed in a room on the second floor with a marvellous view to the hills, and to the countryside. The room and bathroom had good size and were very clean.
The main point is that the hotel was just a little walk to Porta Romana and we were able to reach the old city in few minutes.
The staff was friendly and the only aspect that they should take care is the breakfast that is very basic, with few offer of fruits, bread and cheese.
Strongly recommend this hotel. Lovely place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the main building and in the 1st or 2nd floor. they have a beautiful countryside vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    142
    58
    17
    11
See reviews for
44
194
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012. We made it our "home base" during driving tour of Tuscany hill towns. Easy to reach and good parking. Within easy walk of Siena and easy drive of other towns. Nice spacious room and bath. Wonderful breakfast. Very friendly staff. Lovely olive trees, rosemary plants and restful patio area. Hated to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was small but very clean, the bathroom was tiny. Free parking and a short walk to the centre of Siena. Breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had an amazing veiw over the Tuscan countryside! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Green_Eyes_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Lovely hotel just outside the walls of the city center! The people working in the hotel are so helpful and kind. The views of the Tuscan countryside are also pretty incredible! Although it is a little ways out of the center of town, it makes the experience more peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

A country break, just outside the city! What a beautiful place. Such a pity we had no time to stay longer. Great room, good breakfast, right on porta romana entrance to Siena ( bus / walk). friendly staff.Jacuzzi absolute bonus! Cant wait to return...and stay at least a 5 days and do day trips!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronelcita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thought we would try Porta Romana again after two nights stay in 2011. By coincidence? we ended up with same small room in the annex to main building. Having read other reports this may be a good thing as no noise problems. The bad smell we encountered last year was not in evidence. In my opinion the best things about hotel are car parking and position overlooking Tuscan hills.
May have been unlucky again with breakfasts. Other reviewers rate it as good but I found it off putting that food was brought out almost on demand and in mean fashion. One always seemed to be picking up remains and leftovers. Putting that aside there is no excuse in Italy for stale bread. I will be charitable and say it was from day before but was dry enough to be two days old.
There is a sort of meanness about what is on offer, hard to explain but can be summed up by open air jacuzzi that was pointed out on arrival. It costs 10 euros each to use, an unexpected extra charge in a hotel that is not cheap. needless to say we did not see it in use during our three day stay.
Wifi did not extend to our room so had to sit in reception/breakfast room or outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silversurfer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Arrived by car so was easy to find with free parking. About a 5 minute walk to the Porta Romana gate to the city but a further long walk to the main square. Great views across the Tuscan countryside from the room but it was SO small. Tight squeeze to get bags past the end of the bed. Bathroom clean and spacious. Breakfast was served in the garden and the weather was cold so it was quite unpleasant. Noise from neighboring rooms a bit annoying. Good value hotel but only one expensive restaurant close by if you don't want to walk all the way back to the main square of Siena.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#23 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#25 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#14 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Romana Hotel

Property: Porta Romana Hotel
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 35, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Romana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Porta Romana and the green hills of the sienese countryside are the perfect background for our Hotel. A XVIIIth century building recently renewed and equipped with every modern comfort. A perfect blend for the ones who wish to enjoy one of the world's most fascinating cities. The Hotel, overlooking a stunning hillside scenery, is located 15 minutes walking from Piazza del Campo. Large private parking. Telephone, Sat TV, Wake-up call, Laundry service, Bar, Jacuzzi hot tub and private parking free for direct reservations, Free WiFi Internet access, Pets admitted, Panoramic terrace and solarium, gay-friendly, Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Amex and Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Porta Romana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing