We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Perla in Siena, Italy”
Review of Hotel la Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Perla
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is the second time we've used Hotel La Perla. The location is outstanding but you must be willing to climb stairs as there is no lift. Wifi is provided but spotty in some rooms. Rooms facing the square can be noisy but bearable. No breakfast is provided but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Bathrooms can be very small so be prepared..staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eladioq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 196 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were here for 2 nights and loved the location, the amenities close to the hotel, and the price. It did not include breakfast, but breakfast was right outside the front door within 20 yards. We watched people in the piazza from the room window for hours soaking in the surroundings. The room is small, but clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The building is a remodeled on the interior one of the old buildings, so it is very efficient with its space which we found ingenious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews on here we were a bit worried about what we would find so we were impressed by our room in the attic. although yes the access is not for the frail or nervous, the manager was very helpful and offered to carry up our bags.
The room was lovely. Everything you needed. The bathroom is a little on the small side but the water is hot and the pressure is good so who cares. The location is the big winner, everything is on its door step. The restaurant in the square was nice too. The only thing I would have added to the room was a mirror. Nice to see what you look like before you go out!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laperlasiena, Direttore at Hotel la Perla, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013
Google Translation

Innanzitutto ringrazio sempre per la recensione, positiva o negativa che sia perchè comunque ci fa da stimolo per migliorarci e ci dà l'oggetto su cui dobbiamo migliorare!
sì, concordo, la camera in attico ha una vista meravigliosa, è silenziosa, totalmente rinnovata con pavimenti nuovi, letti nuovi, mobilia nuova......ma purtroopo lo spazio per ricreare tutti i confort erano limitati e il bagnetto ricavato è piccolino e le scale di accesso sono 'difficoltose'........ma questo è il bello e il caratteristico di Siena....se siete mai saliti sulla Torre del Mangia nella Piazza del Campo le scalette sono piccole, strette e anguste ma una volta arrivati in alto.......uno spettacolo..!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here in June in the family room. The hotel is basic and no frills and is close to the main Piazza. No breakfast is offered and there is coffee is available for purchase. Our room was large and overlooked the piazza but was very noisy (although it was advertised as "noiseless").

The bathroom was okay but had a faint odor to it, but the rest of the room was very clean.

For a one star property, this hotel was fine and its best asset is its central location to the piazza and the city center.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I only stayed in this hotel during a short 2 night stay in Florence.

The staff were very friendly upon arrival and offered to carry our bags to the room etc. They gave a map and highlighted our location in relation to the various sights nearby. Also, when we left we were given a bag of local biscuits, a lovely warming departure gift.

The rooms were an initial let down mostly because on booking we were given the impression that we would receive a view of the piazza. However, our room looked out over... nothing special; walls and old buckets and mops. The room was a little small, dark and damp but had all basic essentials.

The best factor of this hotel though is it's prime location, very, very close to the main attractions in the heart of historic Siena.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

the only good thing about this hotel is that its near the city centre.

The rooms are not what you see in the hotel's site.
they have 2 new rooms with colorfull decoration, but they are in the rooftop.... where you go through a tiny ladder with 20-30 steps where its impossible to carry any luggage with you.
They have a huge I-Mac pc in the reception, it would be better if the had given these money to upgrade the rooms.
Didnt like the reception kid, he knows english but he prefes to speak italian.
not worth 75e per night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We arrived in Siena with no where to stay and were bowled over by the kindness of the owner of La Perla. she went beyond the call of duty to help us to locate our car (which we had left outside the walls somewhere?) and get our luggage back to the hotel & then find somewhere to park our car. The hotel is very basic but the rooms are clean and the location is very central. it's up a few flights of stairs so not easy with heavy luggage but there again we were given help. The bathrooms are very small but if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay that is very central with friendly helpful staff you can't go wrong. No breakfast is served but there are lots of places close by for coffee & croissant and the owner directed us in the right direction and also had fantastic suggestions for supper - the best mushroom risotto we have ever eaten!

Room Tip: There is noise being in Siena which needs to get deliveries done early in the morning and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#12 of 40 in Siena
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
2,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Perla

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $54 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel la Perla 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated deep in the historical centre, Hotel La Perla is central to all of the city’s major attractions, from the monuments to the churches, bars, restaraunts, pubs and also the football ground!Housed in a medieval building dating back to the 13th century, it is indeed a historical landmark in itself.All the rooms are suited of a little private bathroom with shower, television and, even if the hotel is housed in a medieval building, all the rooms are fitted of a modern air conditioning under your control to have always fresh air during the hot period.You can also have internet connection using the wi-fi connection or asking to the reception for a little private laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel la Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing