We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, clean, no frills”
Review of Hotel la Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Perla
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Reviewed October 27, 2011

La Perla is located steps away from the Campo and in a piazza with great eating and night life options. I stayed here for a week in March and loved it. I needed a budget place to stay with reliable internet. La Perla does not have amenities, it is very basic but clean, comfortable and you couldn't ask to be more centrally located. Try the bakery downstairs (and to the right) for freshly baked breads and pizzas, the coffee shop at the end of the street (on the Campo) is the most well known in town and enjoy just walking out your door and being in the middle of Siena! There is no lift and there are 2 flights of stairs. The bathroom is small, with the shower nearly over the toilet, but for the price, location and cleanliness, it is great! This is a perfect place for a solo traveler or a couple who want just a room that is safe, clean, with a great location and comfortable. Free TV in the room, with CNN in English was helpful for me. Potential drawbacks are that there is no parking (if you have a car) and it is a 10 minute walk from the bus stop in Gramsci piazza (if you are taking public transport). For me, it was great and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The ones in the back are larger and have a view of the Duomo and the city, but you have to climb a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ericamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

Yeah, I would have to back up samrey's review. I also stayed in room 22, and it is their only single room. I wasn't too surprised by the plain look of the accommodations, but it was on the inside of the building and got a lot of noise from some other room or rooms, as well as cigarette smoke from somewhere (there are also separate apartments below the hotel). I got it for 55 euro, but I wish I had paid more attention to this review before I rented it. I think that for the money, Cannon d'Oro would be more comfortable and a step up.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
Thank co12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Please bear in mind that i stayed in a single room as i was traveling alone. Double rooms may be different but this was my experience. When i asked to change rooms i was told that this was the only single room that they had in the hotel. Trust me, it was a real afterthought that they should have done without.

The website said views over the rooftops of Siena but my window looked directly on to the reception desk and area and if i looked below, a rubbish dump. i could therefore not open the window or curtains during my 2 day (felt like 2 years) stay as then everyone including the receptionist could stare directly in to my room.

I i stared effectively into the wall and the reception area, the room was very dark and i needed to put the lights on at all time, even at lunchtime in Summer!

The room resembled a tiny prison cell. Small cot bed, table chair.
The drain in the shower (which was effectively in the toilet as well stank after i used it
There were 32 steps to the 'hotel' and it was a nightmare lugging my heavy suit case up them.
The walls and door were paper thin and i could hear people sneeze outside never mind talk to each other or on mobile phones or open and close doors.
This is not a 'hotel' in that there is no breakfast and no where to sit or relax. It is a hole in the wall with a reception desk and a rabbit like warren of rooms.

It was a total depressing rip off at E65 for one person

Although it was so hot and hilly in Siena i forced myself to stay out the whole day as i could not bear going back to the 'room'

If you are a single traveler staying in Siena unless you are desperate, do not stay here,

Room Tip: i stayed in room 22 and was told it was the only single room , so good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank samrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I wanted something centrally located. This foot the bill for that. But don't expect anymore than that. Nowhere is it mentioned that the hotel is on the 2nd piano (that's the 3rd floor for us western folk). So if you are young and energetic, go for it. If you have luggage, good luck! Also, had to drive through the center of town to drop luggage off and then find & park in one of the 1.60€/hr parking ramps, Add some time and white knuckles if you are driving yourself through Tuscany!!! Well worth the money since you will also get a stair-master workout included with the price of your room.

Room Tip: Don't bring luggage or a wheelchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JuneauMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

depending on what you want, this could be perfect or a nightmare.

This is a rooming house, not a hotel with any services, nobody on duty at night, etc.

having said that, the location right off the piazza is excellent, it was clean, but again, you are renting a veruy basic room, not a hotel.

if you're looking for a cheap clean place to crash at night as we were, it's great. if you're expecting to be coddled, room service, etc, you will be very unhappy

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim-dartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

the staff here are honestly the most unfriendly staff I have ever encountered. was afraid to ask them anything!! we avoided them at all costs ... not something you should have to do?? rooms were average, shower was cold with no pressure as well. can get better places for the same price in the same location..

my advice is that if you are looking for a place to stay in Siena then KEEP LOOKING! x

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindacinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Right in the heart of old Siena, this hotel was easy to find. You climb 2 flights of stairs and are greeted by friendly staff. Our room was in the attic, and I would only recommend this room for young people as you have to climb 2 narrow spiral staircases to get to it. Once there, the room is nice, with a very small balcony overlooking siena. The shower is over the toilet which we found awkward but ok for the short stay. Overall a good hotel but possibly a tad overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirby-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#25 of 40 in Siena
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#21 of 40 in Siena
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#28 of 40 in Siena
188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Perla

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel la Perla 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated deep in the historical centre, Hotel La Perla is central to all of the city’s major attractions, from the monuments to the churches, bars, restaraunts, pubs and also the football ground!Housed in a medieval building dating back to the 13th century, it is indeed a historical landmark in itself.All the rooms are suited of a little private bathroom with shower, television and, even if the hotel is housed in a medieval building, all the rooms are fitted of a modern air conditioning under your control to have always fresh air during the hot period.You can also have internet connection using the wi-fi connection or asking to the reception for a little private laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel la Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing