We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic location!”
Review of Hotel la Perla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Perla
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Siena
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a fantastic location!”
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The location is perfect for sightseeing! Siena is absolutely amazing - the Piazza del Campo was around the corner from the hotel - and we fell in love with the city as soon as we arrived! It felt safe to walk around and the restaurants were fantastic! It was a little noisy with the windows open, but that is what made it - the sounds of the city - perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationBound57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    59
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
74
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Perfect location-- probably the closest hotel to the main Piazza. The staff were very helpful and their English was great. The only downside was that the rooms were small and bare, but they were also very clean.

The double room in the attic has an awesome view-- but it involves walking up a VERY steep spiral staircase that probably can't be climbed with a suitcase bigger than carry on size. The double room on the 3rd floor (the same floor as reception) overlooking the courtyard is nice, and quiet.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The rooms were clean and nice enough but poorly insulated. In my room, the window wouldn't even close all the way, letting in cold October air, so that it was freezing even with the heat on full blast. The bathrooms were a bit awkward, with no shower floor separation and very little shelf space. The staff was friendly but annoying and not helpful at all. Don't expect free maps, restaurant recommendations, or really any relevant, genuine advice about what to see and do in Siena. This place is an okay place to stay, but you can probably do better.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at La Perla Hotel in Siena. The exterior is pretty plain (although it is fascinating that the building is from the mid-1700s--before the US was even a country!) The room was very comfortable and clean, although in typical European fashion, pretty small. The best part was the amazing view out the window of the small piazza outside. The hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Piazza del Campo and campanile, which is the main tourist draw to the city. For our needs, La Perla was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I wanted to share my positive experience of staying in this hotel. The hotel is tucked away in a quiet piazza, minutes from the main square Il Campo. The hotel has a bijoux feel and is totally un-pretentious.

My twin room was small but uncluttered. When I opened the wooden shutters I saw the most beautiful view of the buildings surrounding 'my own piazza'! The room was quiet. The bathroom is compact but had a great power shower!

I would highly recommend this hotel for value, pleasantness of staff as well as the super location!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

In Canada our streets are all in a grid, and Siena is not, which is VERY cool, but this place was quite difficult to find (we probably would have found it quicker had we taken a taxi!). We called for directions & the guy was not very friendly or helpful. However, once we found it, we found our room to be very comfortable - it was nice and bright and the tiny bathroom was very clean. The location was really good too!

Our room over looked a taxi stand, which was GREAT for getting to the train station the next morning, but at about 7:00 a.m. the street cleaning machine came out...it was sooooo loud. We were already up and leaving that morning so lucky for us it didn't wake us. However, I can't say I would have been too happy if it wasn't a travel day for us! There is NO way I could have slept through it and I'm a good sleeper.

Most places in Italy include breakfast, but this one didn't - unfortunately. We had to leave early in the morning and there wasn't really any restaurants open that we could get breakfast. We managed to find something to eat at the train station though.

With all that being said, I would probably stay again since I know where it is now and I would LOVE to go back to Siena. We were there for only one day on our way down to Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electrakate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv Israel
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

La Perla is located smack in the center of Siena. The room was clean, the bed and shower were fine. The biggest problem is climbing the stairs with suitcases. I would rate this a good bargain, but not an ideal location for the not-so-young traveller.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#26 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
#33 of 40 in Siena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#30 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Perla

Property: Hotel la Perla
Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel la Perla 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated deep in the historical centre, Hotel La Perla is central to all of the city’s major attractions, from the monuments to the churches, bars, restaraunts, pubs and also the football ground!Housed in a medieval building dating back to the 13th century, it is indeed a historical landmark in itself.All the rooms are suited of a little private bathroom with shower, television and, even if the hotel is housed in a medieval building, all the rooms are fitted of a modern air conditioning under your control to have always fresh air during the hot period.You can also have internet connection using the wi-fi connection or asking to the reception for a little private laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel la Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing