We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible accomodation: very dirty and noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Camerine di Silvia
Ranked #49 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The b&b is in a great position, about 10 minutes from the Duomo. Apart from that, anyway, the room we were staying in was really dirty (awful, disgusting): I couldn't even describe it without puking! There was also a door that communicates with another room and we couls hear everything the woman next to us was saying. We couldn't have any privacy and were also scared that someone could enter in our room when we were outside or sleeping! Furthermore the price was really really high compared with the service. The room was also cold and my boyfriend get the flu.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tai2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Le Camerine di Silvia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2007

Location: Rather central to both parking and the duomo/piazza. 5 min walk to parking and 10 min walk to the piazza il campo. No food or restaurants immedaitely close though.It was hard to figure out how to get into Siena in the first place, we had to buy a map to figure things out.

Room: Basic. Clean. Not much character in this apartment building and breakfast consisted of a bunch of pre-packaged croissants and hot dogs. We didn't touch it - it looked stale and old.

Hotel: Nothing much to shout about in this department. They just went out rooms.

Pricing: Rather affordable but I did find more competitive options after i've made my reservations.

Food: -N/a-

Service: I called the camerine the day before to inform of day of arrival. A young lady met me at the camerine to give me the keys. Other than that, there is no staff on site.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

This accommodation is in a quiet residential location about 10 minutes gentle uphill walk to the cathedral and other main sites. There are a couple of good osteria and a food shop within 2 minutes walk.
On arrival guests are issued with keys to the room and security gate, given a streetplan and left to get on with it.
The rooms are in the lower ground floor area of a large house opening directly onto a garden area with seats and benches - a welcome feature which I guess is pretty unusual for accommodation of its type in this city.
Our shuttered room was small basic and clean (except for ants) equipped with a radiator, comfortable bed, bedside tables and lights, hairdryer, TV, table and microwave. There was no kettle, crockery or cutlery of any sort.The en-suite shower room was fitted with a bidet toilet and basin and towels were provided. This small room also housed an alcove to hang clothes and a small fridge.
We had pre-ordered the 'do it yourself' style breakfast. This was a disappointing feature. It was delivered on a tray while we were out on the first evening. There was plenty of it - a hunk of bread wrapped in cling film, a bag of four fresh croissants, a carton of fresh milk and some portions of butter and cheese spread, sachets of coffee and tea and jam. However, we were left to guess that this was expected to last us for two days and that the tray would not be collected/replenished with fresh goods on day 2. Also, the only crockery we were allocated was two cups (one chipped) - no saucers, plates, jug kettle or pot in which to heat the water in the microwave. This seemed unnecessarily basic given that we paid just over 200 euro for the two nights.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daydreamer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed at a second property owned by Silvia of the Hotel Belvedere. This property is a three room bed/breakfast, in the heart of Siena, near the University. It is quite tucked away - literally, our room door opened to a vista of the valley below, just beyond a garden.

Our room had a double bed, which was slightly saggy, but comfortable, an extra twin bed, tv, microwave, mini fridge, desk, and two bedside tables/lamps. We also had a garden level window with shutters. The bath was large, all tiled, with a corner square shower, pedestal sink, commode and bidet. The towels were either linen for hands, or a waffle weave for the bath towel. All areas were clean, but this is not a hotel where one expects toiletries...you need to bring your own, even the soap. There is also no hairdryer, although there are plenty of outlets if you have your own.

What was truly charming about this place was that the rooms open onto a private garden area, complete with two or three cats sunning themselves. One in particular liked us a lot and would come into our room through the open shutters to visit... just like home. We were left entirely alone, which we loved.

Now, there is no continental breakfast or other food onsite, though you can reserve a "breakfast" kit in advance. We just walked a couple of blocks for cappuchino. But the view was to die for, the quiet very complete, except on Liberation Day (singing college students), and we were content.

Warning: get good directions if you reserve here...it took us a 90 minute bus ride because we didn't understand, and didn't speak Italian, plus a half hour of missing the place on foot the first time.

But...we have already agreed we will go back....with a hairdryer, and a stop first at a market for snacks and breakfast foods. Here's to more quiet moments in the sun of the garden on a bench with a companion cat!

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank Soccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank road k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BP1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
1  Thank JoeGiuseppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia I, Proprietario at Le Camerine di Silvia, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa di Osio
Casa di Osio
#53 of 125 in Siena
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Laura
Casa Laura
#66 of 125 in Siena
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Masi
Palazzo Masi
#64 of 125 in Siena
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Alle Due Porte
0.2 mi away
Camere d'Epoca
Camere d'Epoca
#58 of 125 in Siena
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa di Antonella
La Casa di Antonella
#48 of 125 in Siena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Camerine di Silvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Camerine di Silvia

Address: Via Ettore Bastianini 3, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: $68 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Camerine di Silvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing